Awards Current Affairs
Awards Current Affairs March 2nd Week 2016
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) Amrita Patel awarded with Mahindra Samriddhi Krishi Shiromani Samman.

  • Amrita Patel, chairman of Charutar Arogya Mandal and former chairman of the National Dairy Development Board, was conferred with the prestigious Mahindra Samriddhi Krishi Shiromani Samman (Lifetime Achievement Award) in Delhi.
  • Radha Mohan Singh, Union Minister of Agriculture, presented the award to Patel for her contribution that made a difference in the field of agriculture to increase productivity and rural prosperity.
  • Instituted in 2011, the Mahindra Samriddhi India Agri Awards are bestowed upon the farmers and institutions to recognize their noteworthy and purposeful contribution to the field of agriculture.

2) NTPC Bags Poll Based Investor Communication Award.

  • NTPC has been conferred the Research Investor Communication Award among the ``Large Corporates`` category. Director Finance of the Company Shri K. Biswal, received the award at a ceremony held at BSE in Mumbai
  • This award is bestowed for following transparent and fair communication practices by Research Bytes in an independent poll having participation of over 3000 Fund Managers/ Analysts/ Non Institutional Investors.
  • The award NTPC’s effort on building a strong ecosystem based on consistent and regular communication with investors across the globe in a fair and transparent manner.

3) Tezpur University and JNU won the annual Visitor’s Awards for Central Universities.

  • Tezpur University won the annual Visitor’s Award for the Best University.
  • Rakesh Bhatnagar and the Molecular Parasitology Group of Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) have also won the Visitor’s Awards for Research and Innovation respectively.
  • President Pranab Mukherjee will present Visitor’s Awards for 2016 to the winners at a function to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan ,as part of the Festival of Innovations.
  • The Visitor’s Award for Innovation will be given to Professor Rakesh Bhatnagar of Jawaharlal Nehru University for development of a genetically engineered vaccine and a therapeutic antibody against anthrax.
  • The Visitor’s Award for Research will be presented to the Molecular Parasitology Group of Jawaharlal Nehru University of pioneering work in the area of molecular parasitology, especially anti-malaria, leishmaniasis and amoebiasis.

4) Kerala Tourism campaign won Golden City Gate Award.

  • Kerala Tourism`s campaign on responsible tourism bagged the prestigious Golden City Gate Award at the world`s leading travel trade show Internationale Tourismus-Borse Berlin (ITB-Berlin) 2016.
  • The multimedia campaign, titled New Worlds, won the silver prize of 2016 Das Golden Stadttor or Golden City Gate, also known as the Oscar of tourism communication, at the ITB-Berlin 2016.
  • The winning campaign that contained three short films was directed by Malayalam filmmaker Anwar Rasheed.
  • Wolfgang Jo Huschert, President, Jury of the Golden City Gate Award presented the award to Abraham George, President, Kerala Travel Mart.
  • Kerala Tourism had earlier won the Ulysses Prize of the United Nations World Tourism Organisation (UNWTO) for its contribution as a global leader to sustainable tourism.

5) Palestinian Hanan Al Hroub won 2016 Global Teacher Prize.

  • A Palestinian primary school teacher from a refugee camp, Hanan Al Hroub, won one million dollar Global Teacher Prize.
  • She was awarded for her outstanding contribution to the profession.
  • Hroub, who runs the Samiha Khalil High School in Al-Bireh, Palestine, defeated nine other finalists from around the world, including India’s Robin Chaurasiya to win the award.
  • The 2016 Winner of the Global Teacher Prize was announced by Pope Francis in a ceremony held at the Atlantis Palm Hotel in Dubai.

6) Priyanka Kakodkar and Raksha Kumar won Chameli Devi Jain Award.

  • Priyanka Kakodkar and Raksha Kumar were named as joint winners of the 2015-16 Chameli Devi Jain Award.
  • They were awarded for their work that clubs social concern and compassion with pioneering reportage and analytical skills.
  • Kakodkar`s reports, which targeted on the acute farming crisis in Maharashtra, were published on the front page of The Times of India in the year 2015. More than 50 of her reports were published in a year by the paper.
  • Independent journalist Raksha Kumar won the honour as her reports focused on the perilous features of the Union Government`s proposal to amend the Land Acquisition Act, the Forest Rights Act and the Coal Act.
  • The award will be presented by former Environment Minister Jairam Ramesh on 17 March 2016 at the India International Centre, Delhi.

7) British mathematician Sir Andrew Wiles won 2016 Abel Prize.

  • British mathematician Sir Andrew Wiles was named as the winner of the 2016 Abel Prize by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters in Oslo.
  • Wiles won the award for solving a centuries-old hypothesis, Fermat`s Last Theorem.
  • Crown Prince Haakon will present the award to Wiles in May 2016 for an achievement that the academy described as an epochal moment for mathematics.

About Sir Andrew Wiles

  1. Sir Andrew John Wiles is a Royal Society Research Professor at the University of Oxford, specializing in number theory.
  2. He is most notable for proving Fermat`s Last Theorem.
  3. He earned his bachelor`s degree in mathematics in 1974 at Merton College, Oxford, and a PhD in 1980 at Clare College, Cambridge.
  4. In 1985–86, he was a Guggenheim Fellow at the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques near Paris and at the École Normale Supérieure.