leading educational portal of india
Most Recent Articles
Most Rated Articles

Defence & Police

Education Loans

General Knowledge

Hobbies& Habits

National Symbols


Products & features

Travel/ Tourism

Sport Current Affairs
Sports Current Affairs July 1st Week 2021
Author : Admin
Category : Sport Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments : 0
0 / 5 (0 votes)

Tags :

Sports Current Affairs July 1st Week 2021

First Indian Female Swimmer to qualify Tokyo 2020 Olympics:

Maana Patel has progressed to become the first Indian woman and only the third Indian swimmer to qualify for the Tokyo Olympics in 2021. Maana Patel has qualified for the Olympics, joining Srihari Nataraj and Sajan Prakash. She is a 21-year-old backstroke swimmer from Ahmedabad who has won gold medals in the National Games in the 50-meter and 200-meter backstroke. At the sixty-first National School Games (2015), she won gold in the 100-meter backstroke and set a new national record in the event. In 2015, she was chosen for Olympic Gold Quest for the first time, marking the first time a swimmer had been roped in. At the 72nd Senior National Aquatic Championships in 2018, she won three gold medals.
Maana Patel:
♦ On March 18, 2000, she was born. She is an Indian backstroke swimmer from the Gujarati city of Ahmedabad. She began when she was seven years old. At the fortieth Junior National Aquatics Championship in Hyderabad, she timed 2:23.41s in the 200m backstrokes. She won six medals at the 10th Asian Age-group Championships in Bangalore in 2019, with one gold, four silvers, and one bronze. As of 2016, she had won eleven international, 61 national, and 75 country degree medals.
Backstroke or back crawl:
♦ It is one of four swimming styles that are used in competitive events and are governed by FINA. This type of swimming is done on the back. This swimming style has the advantage of allowing for easy breathing. Swimmers, on the other hand, are unable to see where they are heading. It symbolises the start of a new era for the three opposing swimming styles. It`s similar to a freestyle or an upside-down front crawl.
Summer or Tokyo Olympics:
♦ This event will take place in Tokyo, Japan, from July 23 to August 8, 2021. It was originally planned to take place from July 24 to August 9, 2020. However, due to the covid-19 pandemic, it was postponed and rescheduled for the first time. The Summer Olympic Games will be held for the second time in Japan, with the first being held in Tokyo in 1964. Tokyo has become Asia`s first city to hold the Summer Games twice.

Mary Kom and Manpreet Singh are Flag Bearers of Tokoyo Olympics:

M.C. Mary Kom, a boxer, and Manpreet Singh, the captain of India`s men`s hockey team, have been nominated as flag bearers for the Tokyo Olympics. Both of them will be flag carriers for India at the Tokyo Olympics` opening ceremony, which will take place on July 23, 2021.
♦ On August 8, 2021, wrestler Bajrang Punia will be the flag bearer during the closing ceremony.
♦ The Indian Olympic Association (IOA) informed the Olympic Games Organising Committee of their decision.
♦ Abhinav Bindra, India`s lone Olympic gold medalist, was the flag bearer at the opening ceremony of the 2016 Rio Olympics.
♦ The International Olympic Committee had made arrangements for flag bearers from each gender during the opening ceremony at the governing board meeting in order to express equality and parity among genders. In addition, the IOC Executive Board determined that each of the 206 teams and the IOC Refugee Olympic Team competing in the Olympiad must have at least one female and one male athlete.
International Olympic Committee (IOC):
♦ The International Olympic Committee (IOC) is a non-profit sports organisation based in Lausanne, Switzerland. It was established in the structure of a partnership under the Swiss Civil Code, specifically sections 60-79. In 1894, Pierre de Coubertin and Demetrios Vikelas helped to form the IOC. The modern Summer and Winter Olympic Games are organised by this authority. The National Olympic Committees are governed by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) (NOCs). As of 2016, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) has officially recognised 206 NOCs.



Receive All Updates Via Facebook