Awards Current Affairs
Awards Current Affairs August 3rd Week 2016
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) CLRI scientist P. Shanmugam awarded with A.P.J. Abdul Kalam award.

  • Central Leather Research Institute`s (CLRI) Principal Scientist P. Shanmugam bagged the A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Award for his meritorious services in the Higher Education Department of Tamil Nadu.
  • The award consists of a certificate, 5 lakh rupees cheque and an 8 gram gold medal.
Other Awards and Awardees:
  • The state government also bestowed the Kalpana Chawla Award for Courage and Daring Enterprise to Jayanthi from Namakkal District.
  • On the other hand, Chief Minister`s Best Practices Award was presented to Thanjavur District Collector N. Subbaiyan and Superintendent of Police Mayilvahanan.
  • Tamil Nadu Rural Development Minister S.P. Velumani and Principal Secretary of Rural Development Hansraj Verma received the award for solid waste management in rural areas.
  • State Revenue Minister RB Udhayakumar and Revenue Department, Prinicipal Secretary B Chandramohan received the award in the field of online patta transfer.
  • Dindigul Corporation received the Best Corporation Award.
  • Pattukottai Municipality received the Best Municipality First Prize while Perambalur Municipality bagged the second prize.
  • The Chief Minister`s State Youth Award was presented to K. Masha Nazeem in women`s category while in Men`s category; P. Ruban Santhosh bagged the award.
2) Havildar Hangpan Dada honoured with Ashok Chakra posthumously.
  • Havildar Hangpan Dada was honoured posthumously, with the government announcing the highest award Ashok Chakra to an army man during peace-time operations on the eve of the Independence Day.
  • He was killed four intruding terrorists before laying down his life at the height of 13,000 feet in the harsh and icy Himalayan range of North Kashmir that won him the Ashok Chakra.
  • 36-year-old Dada, who laid down his life for the country, valiantly fought in the treacherous Shamsabari range in North Kashmir eliminating four heavily-armed terrorists who had infiltrated into North Kashmir from Pak-occupied-Kashmir (PoK).
3) A.R. Rahman honoured with Tamil Ratna Award.
  • Noted music composer A.R. Rahman was honoured with the Tamil Ratna Award.
  • The award was presented by New York based Tamil Sangam.
  • Rahman was bestowed with the honour after his concert at the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) chamber.
  • Rahman was invited at the UNGA to perform a concert to honour M.S. Subbulakshi, the doyen of Carnatic music. The concert was sponsored by India`s UN Mission and Sankara Nethralaya, a Chennai-based charity organisation.
  • The previous recipients of Tamil Ratna Award include Tamil movie director Bharathi Raja, Bharatha Natyam exponent Kamala Lakshman and Srinivasa Varadhan, the winner of the Abel Prize for mathematics.


4) Pandit Shiv Kumar Sharma to be conferred with Sangeet Martand Ustad Chand Khan Lifetime Achievement Award.

  • The Sursagar Society of Dilli Gharana in announced that it will confer the annual Sangeet Martand Ustad Chand Khan Lifetime Achievement Award on santoor maestro Pandit Shiv Kumar Sharma.
  • The society has been felicitating stalwarts of Indian classical music and dance with the award since 1986 to recognise their contribution towards enriching the art forms.
  • In 2015, the honour was conferred upon Kathak exponent Pandit Birju Maharaj. Other recipients of the award include Pandit Jasraj, Ustad Abdul Haleem Jaffar Khan, Ustad Amjad Ali Khan and a centenarian Ustad Abdul Rashid Khan.
  • The award carries a cash prize of 50000 rupees, a memento and a citation.
5) U.P. to confer Rani Laxmi Bai award on Sakshi Malik.
  • The Uttar Pradesh government announced to honour Indian wrestler Sakshi Malik who won a bronze at the Rio Olympic Games with the prestigious Rani Laxmi Bai Award. 
  • Ms. Malik, who hails from Rohtak in Haryana, became only the fourth woman athlete from India to win an Olympic medal after she clinched a bronze in the 58-kg category. 
  • Congratulating her, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav to honour her with the Rani Laxmi Bai Award, meant to signify bravery and outstanding achievement of women.
6) Hindi author Sunita Jain conferred Vyas Samman award.
  • Hindi scholar and writer Sunita Jain was awarded the prestigious 25th Vyas Samman 2015 for her poetry collection "Kshama".
  • West Bengal Governor K.N. Tripathi conferred the award on the scholar.
  • The award instituted by the K.K. Birla Foundation carries a cash prize of Rs. 2.50 lakh. It is given annually to outstanding literary work in Hindi authored by an Indian citizen.
  • Tripathi commended the author for portraying through poetry the fine emotions between poet Tulsidas and his wife Ratnavalli.
7) Steve Jobs enters Int`l Photography Hall of Fame.
  • Apple`s late Co-founder Steve Jobs has entered the International Photography Hall of Fame (IPHF), a US museum and foundation that honours inventors and photographers.
  • "Steve helped create products that revolutionized the creative world and became essential tools for designers, filmmakers, music producers and photographers," announced by the museum.
8) BEL head bags top award.
  • S.K. Sharma, Chairman and Managing Director, BEL has been awarded as the Most Enterprising CEO in Electronics Sector by the Indo Global Business Council (IGBC), a policy think-tank based in New Delhi.
  • M.M. Joshi, Executive Director (National Marketing), BEL, received the award on behalf of CMD. 

9) IOA Chief N. Ramachandran bestowed with the Olympic Order award.

  • N. Ramachandran, President Indian Olympic Association (IOA), was awarded the Olympic Order for his outstanding services to the Olympic movement.
  • The President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), Thomas Bach, formally presented the award to Ramachandran.
About Olympic Order:
  1. The Olympic Order is the highest award of the Olympic Movement which is awarded in recognition of efforts worthy of merit in the cause of sport.
  2. It was established in May 1975 as a successor to the Olympic Certificate by the International Olympic Committee.
  3. As a tradition, IOC bestows the Olympic Order upon the chief national organiser(s) at the closing ceremony of each respective Olympic Games.
  4. Nadia Comaneci is the only athlete to be awarded the Olympic Order twice, that is, in 1984 and 2004. He is also the youngest ever recipient.