Awards Current Affairs
Awards Current Affairs July 1st Week 2016
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) President Pranab Mukherjee presents B.C. Roy National Awards for 2008, 2009 and 2010.

  • President Pranab Mukherjee presented the Dr. B.C. Roy National Awards for 2008, 2009 and 2010.
  • The awards were presented at Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi on the occasion of Doctors` Day.

List of awardees for the year 2008 :

  1. Dr. Mammen Chandy
  2. Prof. Rajeshwar Dayal
  3. Dr. Rohit V. Bhatt
  4. Dr. Neelam Mohan
  5. Prof. Mohan Kameswaran
  6. Dr. Harsha Jauhari
  7. Dr. Gopal H. Badlani
  8. Dr. Yash Gulati

List of awardees for the year 2009 :

  1. Dr. K.H. Sancheti
  2. Dr. Atul Kumar
  3. Dr. Renu Saxena
  4. Dr. Kanan A. Yelikar
  5. Dr. A.K. Kriplani
  6. Dr. G.V. Rao
  7. Dr. H.S. Bhanushali
  8. Dr. Moti Lal Singh
  9. Dr. C.N. Purandare
  10. Dr. C.V. Hari Narayan

List of awardees for the year 2010

  1. Dr. Nikhil C. Munshi
  2. Dr. Tejinder Singh
  3. Prof. O.P. Kalra
  4. Dr. Amrinder Jit Kanwar
  5. Dr. Subash Gupta
  6. Dr. Rajendra Prasad
  7. Dr. Glory Alexander

2) Sand artist Sudarsan Pattnaik’s 100 sand `raths` set new world record.

  • Sand artist Sudarsan Pattnaik has set another world record by entering the Limca Book of Records by carving 100 sand chariots at the Puri beach in Odisha.
  • The Padma Shri awardee artist already has 20 world records to his name.
  • About 800 bags of sand were used within 2,500 sqft area to complete the 100 chariots.

3) Nasser Hussain sets Guinness Record for highest catch.

  • Former England captain Nasser Hussain has set a Guinness World Record for the highest catch of a cricket ball.
  • The 48-year-old caught the cricket ball that was dropped using a drone from a height of 150 feet in windy conditions at the Lord`s stadium.
  • The ball reached an approximate speed of 119 km/h before landing safely in the cricketer’s hands.
4) Dipa Karmakar named World Class Gymnast by International Gymnastics Federation.
  • Indian gymnast Dipa Karmakar was named a `Gymnaste de Classe Mondaile` (World class gymnast) by the International Gymnastics Federation (FIG).
  • In this regard, she received the official letter confirming the distinction from the federation.
  • With this, she also became the first-ever Indian gymnast to receive the honour.
Dipa Karmakar :
  • She is an Indian artistic gymnast from Agartala, Tripura.
  • She rose to recognition when she won a bronze medal at the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games becoming the first Indian female gymnast to do so in the history of the games.
  • She won a bronze at the Asian Gymnastics Championships and finished 5th at the 2015 World Artistic Gymnastics Championships.
  • With this, she became the first Indian finalist at the World Artistic Gymnastics Championships.
5) Radhika Menon becomes first woman to bag IMO Award for Exceptional Bravery at Sea.
  • Captain Radhika Menon was selected for the 2016 International Maritime Organization (IMO) Award for Exceptional Bravery at Sea.
  • Menon has been selected for the prestigious award for her role in the rescue of seven fishermen from a sinking fishing boat in the Bay of Bengal in June 2015.
  • Captain Menon will also be the first female to receive the IMO Award for Exceptional Bravery at Sea.
  • The award will be presented to Menon on 21 November 2016 at IMO Headquarters in London, United Kingdom.
About Radhika Menon
Menon is the Master of the oil products tanker Sampurna Swarajya.
She is the first woman captain in the Indian Merchant Navy.

She was nominated for the award by the Government of India for the rescue of all seven fishermen from the fishing boat Durgamma. 

6) South African writer Lidudumalingani Mqombothi wins 2016 Caine Prize.
  • South African writer, filmmaker and photographer Lidudumalingani Mqombothi won the 17th edition of prestigious Caine Prize 2016 for his short story Memories We Lost.
  • With this, Lidudumalingani was awarded with 10000 Euros and a month at Georgetown University in the US as a writer-in-residence.
  • The winning story explores a difficult subject of tackling schizophrenia. This is a troubling piece, depicting the great love between two young siblings in a beautifully drawn Eastern Cape.
About Caine Prize :
  • The Caine Prize is an annual literature prize awarded to an African writer of a short story published in the English language.
  • It was established in 2010 in the United Kingdom and was named in memory of Sir Michael Harris Caine, former Chairman of Booker Group plc.
  • The award carrying 10000 Euros prize seeks to encourage and highlight the richness and diversity of African writing by bringing it to a wider audience internationally.
  • It is famously referred as the African Booker.
7) Double Dhamaka Prize Money ($40,000) for UNESCO KALINGA PRIZE.
  • The Odisha government has decided to double the prize money of UnescoKalinga Prize-2017 to $40,000.
  • The Kalinga Prize was established in 1951 by United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) with a generous grant from BijuPatnaik, the founder-president of the Kalinga Foundation Trust.
  • The Kalinga Prize is given to persons who make outstanding contribution to the interpretation of science and technology to the general public.
  • It is noted that Argentinian scientist Diego Andres Golombek received the UNESCO Kalinga Prize 2015.