Awards Current Affairs
Awards Current Affairs April 1st Week 2016
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) PEN America to Honor Jailed Egyptian Novelist Ahmed Naji with Freedom to Write Award.

  • PEN America announced that the PEN/ Barbey Freedom to Write Award upon imprisoned Egyptian novelist and journalist Ahmed Naji at its annual Literary Gala at the American Museum of Natural History in New York.
  • The Edwin Barbey Charitable Fund, directed by Peter Barbey and his wife, Pamela, will underwrite the new award.
  • Naji, 30, is the author of three books and a journalist at the state-funded Akhbar al-Adab literary magazine.
  • He is a frequent contributor to other newspapers and websites, including Al Modonand Al Masry Al Youm, and has been a vocal critic of official corruption under the rule of Egyptian President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi.
  • In 2015, Naji was charged with “violating public modesty” after a private citizen complained that an excerpt from Naji’s novel The Use of Life published in the state-run literary journal Akhbar al-Adab had given the reader heart palpitations due to its sexual content.
  • State prosecutors then brought a case againstNaji despite the Egyptian censorship board’s previous approval of the literary text

2) Ranveer Singh bags Maharashtrian of the Year Award.

  • Ranveer Singh, who got a lot of appreciation for the portrayal of Peshwa Bajirao in the flick `Bajirao Mastani`, has been recently felicitated with Marathi publication Lokmat`s Maharashtrian of the Year Award.
  • The 30-year-old actor was presented the award by Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.
  • Cinematic legends like Amitabh Bachchan and Dilip Kumar have been honoured with this award in the past.
  • Superstar Aamir Khan was guest of honour at the event.

3) PM Narendra Modi conferred Saudi Arabia`s highest civilian honour.

  • Saudi Arabia today conferred its highest civilian honour the King Abdulaziz Sash on Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
  • The award is named after Abdulaziz Al Saud, the founder of the modern Saudi state.
  • The Prime Minister was conferred the prestigious award by King Salman bin Abdulaziz at the Royal Court where they held extensive talks on a range of bilateral, regional and international issues.
  • World leaders who have received the honour include Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, British Prime Minister David Cameron, US President Barack Obama, and Russian President Vladimir Putin and Egyptian President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi.

4) Vedanta sets Guinness World Record for mass plantation.

  • Talwandi Sabo Power Limited (TSPL), a subsidiary of Vedanta Limited has officially set the Guinness World Record for simultaneously planting 208,751 saplings at a single location in less than an hour.
  • Guinness World Records acknowledged this special achievement by TSPL, by presenting a certificate. The mass plantation drive was organized in Mansa, Punjab on October 30, 2015. 5,928 supporters from different walks of life came together to make this feat possible.
  • TSPL has set the benchmark for environmental compliance by developing 222 acres of green cover (as of March 2015) around the periphery of the plant and installing Zero Discharge Unit, Sewage Treatment Plant and High Concentration Slurry Disposal (HCSD) system.

About TSPL:

  1. ISO 900, ISO 14001, ISO 50001 and OHSAS certified company TSPL is the largest Greenfield Power Project in Punjab.

5) Pranab Mukherjee presents National Geoscience Awards 2014.

  • President Pranab Mukherjee presented the National Geoscience Awards – 2014 at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.
  • Mukherjee stated that availability and use of minerals in any country has been one of the factors determining self-sufficiency of its economy.
  • He stated that he was happy to note that the Geo scientists of the country are working hard to meet these challenges.

List of National Geo science Awardees – 2014

1. Prof. Ashok Kumar Singhvi     Award for Excellence
2. Dr. Muduru LachhanaDora Mineral Discovery & Exploration
3. Shri Biswajeet Lenka Mineral Discovery & Exploration
4. Shri Syed Ajaz Ahmad Mineral Discovery & Exploration
5. Shri Hemraj Suryavanshi Mineral Discovery & Exploration
6. Shri Vijay V. Mugal Coal, Lignite and Coal Bed Methane Discovery & Exploration
7. Shri Lalit Khasdeo Coal, Lignite and Coal Bed Methane Discovery & Exploration
8. Shri Kaushik Rajbanshi Coal, Lignite and Coal Bed Methane Discovery & Exploration
9. Dr. Abhijit Mukherjee Groundwater Exploration
10. Dr. Satyendra Kumar Singh Mining Technology
11. Prof. Arvind Kumar Mishra Mining Technology
12. Dr. Sreenivas Tumulri Mineral Beneficiation
13. Dr. Swati Mohanty Mineral Beneficiation
14. Dr. Khanindra Pathak Sustainable Mineral Development
15. Dr. Dewashish Upadhyay Basic Geosciences
16. Dr. Prasanta Sanyal Basic Geosciences
17. Dr. Rajeev Patnaik Basic Geosciences
18. Shri Milind V. Dhakate Applied Geology
19. Shri Gautam Saha Applied Geology
20. Shri Rashtrapal H. Chavhan Applied Geology
21. Shri Prashant Tukaram Ilamkar Applied Geology
22. Dr. Simanchal Padhy Geophysics/ Applied Geophysics
23. Dr. Sandeep Kumar Gupta Geophysics/ Applied Geophysics
24. Dr. Nathani Basavaiah Geo-Environmental studies
25. Dr. T.M. Balakrishnan Nair Oceanography and Marine Geology
26. Dr. P.A. Francis Oceanography and Marine Geology
27. Dr. R. Harikumar Oceanography and Marine Geology
28. K.G. Sandhya Oceanography and Marine Geology
29. Dr. R. Venkatesan Glaciology and Arctic & Antarctic Research
30. M. Arul Muthiah- Glaciology and Arctic & Antarctic Research
31. Dr. K.P. Krishnan Glaciology and Arctic & Antarctic Research
32. Shri B. Kesavakumar Glaciology and Arctic & Antarctic Research
33. Dr. Indra Sekhar Sen Young Scientist Award

6) Viswanathan Anand will be honoured with Hridaynath Mangeshkar Award.

  • Chess legend Viswanathan Anand will be honoured with the Hridaynath Mangeshkar Award. Maharashtra Governor C. Vidyasagar Rao will present the award in Mumbai on April 12.
  • The previous recipients of the award include eminent personalities like Lata Mangeshkar, Babasaheb Purandare, Asha Bhosle, Amitabh Bachchan, Hariprasad Chaurasia and A.R. Rahman.
  • He became India’s first grandmaster in 1988. He held the FIDE World Chess Championship from 2000 to 2002 and became the undisputed world champion in 2007.