Awards Current Affairs
Awards Current Affairs January 4th week 2016
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) Prince Narula- The winner of Big Boss 9.

  • Prince Narula finally won the Bigg Boss 9. The final winner defeated Rishabh Sinha, Mandana Karimi and Rochelle Rao.
  • Being favorite among audience, this man makes it to the final list and consequently won also.
  • He has also been the winner of Roadies and Splitsvilla. Keeping his track record on mind, he with no doubt is the Prince who never fails to fulfill his duties as the king and performs his tasks with full strength and mind.
About Prince Narula :
  • Prince Narula started his career with modelling in his home town Chennai.
  • He participated in the Mr. Punjab 2014 , where he finished as second runner-up.
  • He became a known personality when he won the show Roadies.
  • After Roadies he won the splitsvilla and became the ultimate King.
  • He then participated in the Bigg Boss 9 and won it consequently.
2) Jeevan Raksha Padak Awards 2015 announced.
  • President Pranab Mukherjee approved the conferment of Jeevan Raksha Padak Series of Awards 2015 on 50 persons.
  • These series of gallantry awards were instituted in the year 1961.
  • These are given to a person for meritorious act of humane nature in saving the life of a person in cases like drowning in water, accidents, fire incidents, electrocution, natural calamities, rescue operation in mines etc.
The award is given in three categories, which are:
(i) Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak is awarded for conspicuous courage in saving life under circumstances of very great danger to the life of the rescuer.
(ii) Uttam Jeevan Raksha Padak is awarded for courage and promptitude in saving life under circumstances of great danger to the life of the rescuer.
(iii) Jeevan Raksha Padak is awarded for courage and promptitude in saving life under circumstances of grave bodily injury to the rescuer.

3) Cottalango Leon selected for 2016 Technical Achievement Award of Academy of Motion Pictures.

  • Cottalango Leon, a person of Indian origin, was selected for the 2016 Technical Achievement Award of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
  • Leon won the award under the Scientific and Technical Achievements category for the design, engineering and continuous development of Sony Pictures Image works Itview along with his two team members J Robert Ray and Sam Richards. It is a tool used only within Sony Image works.
  • He joined another person of Indian origin Rahul Thakkar who also was named as one of the winners of Scientific and Technical Awards 2016 of Academy Awards.
About Cottalango Leon :
  • Born in Thoothukudi, Leon grew up in Coimbatore and did his schooling from there itself.
  • He did BE at PSG College of Technology during 1988 to 1992 and got his Master’s degree at Arizona State University in 1996.
  • He began to work on Sony Pictures Image works It view as his first project in 1996.
  • Cottalango has several hit films to his credit including names like Spiderman` series, Men In Black series, Hotel Transylvania, The Smurfs, Cloudy With The Chance of Meatballs, Open Season and Stuart Little.
About the Technical Achievement Awards :
  • Technical Achievement Awards are given annually for accomplishments that contribute to the progress of the motion picture industry by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
  • The academy presents 10 scientific and technical achievements every year. The winners get a printed certificate detailing the achievement and listing the names of all of the individuals who contributed to its development at an annual award ceremony.
4) Rekha conferred with Yash Chopra Memorial award.
  • Veteran Bollywood actress Rekha has been honoured with the third Yash Chopra Memorial Award.
  • Maharashtra Governor C. Vidyasagar Rao presented the award to the actress in recognition of her talent and contribution to the film industry.
About Yash Chopra Memorial Award
  • It is an annual award bestowed upon distinguished senior film personality for outstanding contribution to film industry
  • The award has been instituted by the TSR Foundation of T Subbarami Reddy in the memory of the producer-director Yash Chopra who died in 2012.
  • It carries Gold Medal and a cash prize of 10 lakh rupees.
  • Melody queen Lata Mangeshkar (2013) and megastar Amitabh Bachchan (2014) have been also conferred with this award.


5) Indian activist Henri Tiphagne selected for Amnesty International Human Rights Award 2016.

  • Henri TiphagneIndian lawyer and human rights defender Henri Tiphagne was selected for the 8th Human Rights Award by Amnesty International Germany.
  • The award is a recognition of Tiphagne’s exceptional commitment to human rights. He will be conferred with the award at an official ceremony on 25 April 2016 at the Maxim Gorki Theatre in Berlin, Germany.
About Amnesty International Human Rights Award :
  • The Human Rights Award is presented by Amnesty Germany every two years in recognition of individuals or organizations campaigning for human rights under very difficult conditions.
  • Through the award, Amnesty International aims to honour and support the awardees’ exceptional human rights commitment and raise awareness of their work amongst the German public.
  • The award comes with 10000 Euros, provided by Amnesty Germany’s foundation Stiftung Menschenrechte, Förderstiftung Amnesty.
6) Nisid Hajari won 2016 William E. Colby Award for Best Military Book.
  • Midnights FuriesNisid Hajari won the 2016 William E. Colby Award for his book, Midnight’s Furies: The Deadly Legacy of India’s Partition.
  • Hajari will be presented with the award and honorarium at Norwich University, the USA in April 2016.
  • The Midnight’s Furies: The Deadly Legacy of India’s Partition covers the 1947 partition of India and the violence that surrounded that event.
About William E. Colby Award :
  • The William E. Colby Writers` Award was established in 1999 by the William E. Colby Military Writers` Symposium at Norwich University in Vermont.
  • It is awarded to recognize a first work of fiction or non-fiction that has made a major contribution to the understanding of intelligence operations, military history, or international affairs.
  • It is named in honour of former CIA director William Egan Colby.