Awards Current Affairs
Awards Current Affairs January 3rd week 2016
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) The Look of Silence won award at 9th Annual Cinema Eye Honours.

  • Director Joshua Oppenheimer’s ``The Look of Silence`` has won the Top Documentary Award at the 9th Annual Cinema Eye Honours.
  • The film is based on the examination of the Indonesian genocide of the 1960s.
  • The film has also won the Directing Award for Oppenheimer and the Outstanding Production honour for Signe Byrge Sørensen.
Other Award Winners
  • Chris King won his third Cinema Eye editing award for ``Amy``, making him the first person to win three awards in the same category.
  • Laurie Anderson for Original Score for ``Heart of a Dog``.
Stefan Nadelman and Hisko Hulsing for Graphic Design for ``Kurt Cobain:
  • Montage of Heck``.
  • Crystal Moselle won the Outstanding Debut Award for ``The Wolfpack``.
  • ``Hotel 22`` by Elizabeth Lo and ``Buffalo Juggalos`` by Scott Cummings tied for the Short Film Award.
2) 61st Britannia Filmfare Awards: The complete list of winners.
The 61st Filmfare Awards 2015 has been recently announced.
Here are the complete list of winners
Best Actor: Ranveer Singh for `Bajirao Mastani`.
Best Actress: Deepika Padukone for `Piku`.
Best Film: `Bajirao Mastani`.
Best Director: Sanjay Leela Bhansali for `Bajirao Mastani`.
Lifetime Achievement: Moushumi Chatterjee.
Best Debut Director: Neeraj Ghaywan for `Massan`.
Best Debutant (Male): Sooraj Pancholi for `Hero`.
Best Debutant (Female): Bhumi Pednekar for `Dum Laga Ke Haisha`.
Critics Award for Best Film: `Piku`.
Critics Award for Best Actor (Male): Amitabh Bachchan for `Piku`.
Best Actor Female Critics Choice (Female): Kangana Ranaut for `Tanu Weds Manu Returns`.
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Priyanka Chopra for `Bajirao mastani`.
Best Story: V. Vijayendra Prasad for `Bajrangi Bhaijaan`.
Best Singer (Male): Arijit Singh for `Sooraj dooba hai’ from `Roy`.
Best Singer (Female): Shreya Ghoshal for ‘Deewani mastani’ from `Bajirao Mastani`.
Best VFX: Prana Studios for `Bombay Velvet`.
Best Dialogue: Anupam Roy for `Piku`.
Best Action: Sham Kaushal for `Bajirao Mastani`.
Best Cinematography: Manu Anand for `Dum Laga Ke Haisha`.
Best Choreography: Birju Maharaj for `Mohe rang de laal’ from ‘Bajirao Mastani`.
Best Edit: `Talvar`.
Best Production Design: Sujit Sawant, Saloni and Sriram Iyenger for `Bajirao Mastani`.
Best Costume Designer: Anju Modi and Maxima for `Bajirao Mastani`.


3) Anuradha Roy Wins $50,000 DSC Prize For `Sleeping on Jupiter`.

  • Indian writer Anuradha Roy has won the prestigious $50,000 DSC Prize for South Asian Literature for her novel ‘Sleeping on Jupiter’ at the Galle Literary Festival in Sri Lanka.
  • Ms Roy was awarded the prize and a unique trophy by Sri Lankan Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.
Shortlisted Authors
  • The six shortlisted authors in contention for this year’s prize were UK-based Indian-origin author Akhil Sharma for ``Family Life``, KR Meera’s ``Hangwoman`` (Translated by Devika), Mirza Waheed’s ``The Book of Gold Leaves``, Neel Mukherjee’s ``The Lives of Others`` and ``Raj Kamal Jha: She Will Build Him A City``.
  • This year prize had received 74 entries with participation from publishers across the South Asian region and from countries like the UK, US, Canada, Australia and South Africa amongst others.
4) Dr. Jancy James selected for Prof MV Pylee Award for the Distinguished Academician of India.
  • Dr. Jancy James, the first woman Vice Chancellor of Kerala, was selected for the Prof MV Pylee Award for the Distinguished Academician of India.
  • The award was instituted by Cochin University of Science and Technology in the name of MV Pylee.
  • He is an Indian scholar, educationist and management guru and widely regarded as the father of management education in Kerala.
  • The award is given for excellence in teaching and research and contribution to academic community. It carries an amount of 1 lakh rupees and a citation.

5) GOI announced the National Bravery Awards 2015.

  • Overall, twenty five children (3 girls and 22 boys) were selected for the National Bravery Awards 2015.
  • The Award Winners has been selected by a committee comprised of representatives from various Ministries and Departments, NGOs as well as Office Bearers of Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW).
Special Awardees under National Bravery Awards 2015
Bharat Award: 15-year-old Late Gaurav Kawduji Sahastrabuddhe of Maharashtra who sacrificed his life in an attempt to save his four friends.
Geeta Chopra Award: 8 year old Shivampet Ruchitha of Telangana who showed courage in saving two lives when a train hit her school bus.
Sanjay Chopra Award: 16-year-old Arjun Singh of Uttarakhand who displayed outstanding bravery in fighting a tiger to save his mother.
Bapu Gaidhani Awards: Ramdinthara of Mizoram, Rakeshbhai Shanabhai Patel of Gujarat and Aromal S.M. of Kerala.

6) Rahul Thakkar won Scientific and Technical Achievement Award 2016.
  • Rahul Thakkar, along with Richard Chuang has been chosen for Scientific and Technical achievement Award 2016 given by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
  • The duo has been picked for ``groundbreaking design`` of the DreamWorks Animation Media Review System.
About Rahul Thakkar
  • Rahul Thakkar was born in United Kingdom and was raised in India.
  • Currently, Rahul Thakkar is serving as the Vice-President at Brivo Systems.
  • He is a computer engineer graduate from Mumbai University.
  • Rahul Thakkar holds a Master’s degree in computer science from Utah State University.
  • He has an experience of 20 years in product design and research.
7) Rahul Thakkar won an Oscar Award for technical achievement.
  • Person of Indian Origin Rahul Thakkar was named as one of winners of the Scientific and Technical Awards given by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, famously called Oscar Awards.
  • Rahul Thakkar will be presented with the Technical Achievement Award for his contribution to cinema through "groundbreaking design".
List of Technical Achievement awards winners:-
  • Michael John Keesling for the design and development of Image Shaker, an optical system that convincingly creates the illusion of the camera shaking in a variable and repeatable manner.
  • David McIntosh, Steve Marshall Smith, Mike Branham and Mike Kirilenko for the engineering and development of the Aircover Inflatables Airwall.
  • Trevor Davies, Thomas Wan, Jon Scott Miller, Jared Smith and Matthew Robinson for the development of the Dolby Laboratories PRM Series Reference Color Monitors.
  • Ronald Mallet and Christoph Bregler for the design and engineering of the Industrial Light & Magic Geometry Tracker, a novel, general-purpose tracker and solver.
  • Jim Hourihan, Alan Trombla and Seth Rosenthal for the design and development of the Tweak Software RV system, a highly extensible media player system.
  • Richard Chuang and Rahul Thakkar for the groundbreaking design, and to Andrew Pilgrim, Stewart Birnam and Mark Kirk for the review workflows and advanced playback features, of the DreamWorks Animation Media Review System.
  • Keith Goldfarb, Steve Linn, Brian Green and Raymond Chih for the development of the Rhythm & Hues Global DDR System.
  • J Robert Ray, Cottalango Leon and Sam Richards for the design, engineering and continuous development of Sony Pictures Imageworks Itview.
  • List of Scientific and Engineering Awards winners:-
  • Brian McLean and Martin Meunier for pioneering the use of rapid prototyping for character animation in stop-motion film production.
  • Jack Greasley, Kiyoyuki Nakagaki, Duncan Hopkins and Carl Rand for the design and engineering of the MARI 3D texture painting system.