Awards Current Affairs
December 4th week 2015 current affairs
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) India’s Kartik Sawhney and Neha Swain won 2016 Queen`s Young Leaders Award.

  • Kartik Sawhney and Neha Swain from India are among 60 others who won the Queen’s Young Leaders award 2016 which will be presented by the British monarch at a gala ceremony in Buckingham Palace in June next year.
  • India’s Kartik Sawhney and Neha Swain won the Queen’s Young Leaders award in the U.K. for their exceptional work in transforming the lives of others and making a lasting difference in their communities.
  • Kartik Sawhney, who was born blind, has been acknowledged for his exceptional work highlighting universal access to education for all.
  • Neha Swain, a youth facilitator and co-founder of NGO Rubaroo provides an inclusive space for young people, irrespective of their socio-economic background, to develop their leadership skills through interactive workshops.
About Queen`s Young Leaders Award:
  1. Queen`s Young Leader Award is an annual award given in recognition of leadership skills by young person’s between the ages of 18 and 29.
  2. The award is open to selected Commonwealth of Nations to recognize exceptional people or organizations who are making a difference in improving other citizen`s lives.
  3. The program was established by the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Trust, in partnership with Comic Relief and the Royal Commonwealth Society.
2) Author Salman Rushdie receives Mailer Prize for lifetime achievement.
  • India-born author Salman Rushdie has been awarded the prestigious Mailer Prize that honours writers who fully exercise their freedom of creativity and thrive on dialogue and debate.
  • 68-year-old Salman Rushdie received the Mailer Center`s Annual Lifetime Achievement Prize at a ceremony in New York.
  • His most recent novel, Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights, was published in the English language in September 2015.
About Mailer Prize:
Established: 2009
  1. The prize is named after renowned American writer Norman Mailer, considered among the most influential writers of the second half of the 20th century.
  2. The prize is given to writers whose work over the years has challenged readers’ perspectives on the world around them.


3) Indian-origin writer wins South East Asia literary award.
  • 2015 South East Asia Write Award has been conferred upon Indian-origin writer Jamaludeen Mohamed Sali.
  • The award was bestowed upon him at the annual ASEAN regional award for literary excellence in Bangkok, Thailand.
  • Jamaludeen Mohamed Sali has been writing for over 5 decades and has written 57 books, 80 plays and more than 400 short stories.
  • His short stories like Vellai Kodugal (White Lines), Alaigal Pesuginrana (the Sound Of The Waves) are being studied by Tamil Literature students in Singapore and Indian universities.
About South East Asia literary award:
Established: 1979
  1. It is being presented annually to poets and writers in Southeast Asia region.
  2. It is especially bestowed upon a writer from a country that is part of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).
  3. The award is given for a specific work by an author or awarded for lifetime achievement.
4) Dilip Kumar gets Padma Vibhushan award.
  • Legendary actor Dilip Kumar has been conferred with the prestigious Padma Vibhushan, country’s second highest civilian award.
  • It was bestowed upon him by Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis at his residence in Mumbai, Maharashtra.
About Padma Vibhushan award:
Instituted: 1954
Awarded by: Government of India
  1. Padma Vibhushan is the second-highest civilian award of the Republic of India.
  2. The Padma Vibhushan award recipients are announced every year on Republic Day of India and registered in The Gazette of India-a publication released weekly by the Department of Publication, Ministry of Urban Development used for official government notices.
5) Wipro Wins 2015 Aegis Graham Bell Award for Innovation in IoT.
  • Global software giant Wipro won the 2015 Aegis Graham Bell Award for developing a solution for the Internet of Things (IoT).
  • The Aegis School of Business established the Aegis Graham Bell Awards as a tribute to the father of the telephony, Sir Alexander Graham Bell.
  • The award is intended to promote innovation, entrepreneurship in the field of Telecom, Internet, Media & Edutainment (TIME) and to provide recognition for outstanding contributions in this field in India.


6) Renowned violinist Itzhak Perlman wins 2016 Genesis prize.

  • World-renowned violinist Itzhak Perlman has been named the victor of the 2016 Genesis Prize Laureate for his accomplishments as a musician, teacher and advocate for people with disabilities.
  • Perlman will receive the award on 23 June 2016 from Israel’s Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu at a ceremony in Jerusalem.
About Genesis prize:
Founded: 2012
Awarded for: Outstanding achievement by individuals who have attained excellence and international renown in their chosen professional fields, and whose actions, in addition to their achievements, embody the character of the Jewish people through commitment to Jewish values, the Jewish community and/or to the State of Israel.
The prize was founded by the Office of the Prime Minister of Israel, Genesis Philanthropy Group, and the Jewish Agency for Israel with the objective of inspiring and developing a sense of pride and belonging among young unaffiliated Jews throughout the world.
6) Bappi Lahiri, Kumar Sanu get lifetime achievement awards from West Bengal.
  • Veteran music composer Bappi Lahiri and singer Kumar Sanu presented lifetime achievement awards by the West Bengal government.
  • State Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee handed over the awards at the inauguration of the annual Bangla Sangeet Mela.
  • Besides, Bishesh Sangeet Samman was awarded to Dwijen Mukhyopadhyay, Ajoy Chakraborty and Sandhya Mukherjee.
  • Shantanu Moitra was honoured with Maha Sangeet Samman along with Mohammad Aziz, Kumar Bose and Shibaji Chattopadhyay.