Sport Current Affairs
December 4th week 2015 current affairs
Category : Sport Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) Shiva, Mandeep among four boxers to receive IOC Olympic scholarships.

  • Four Indian boxers, namely Shiva Thapa, Mandeep Jangra, Gaurav Bidhuri and Sumit Sangwan were selected by the International Olympics Committee (IOC) for a scholarship.
  • Under the scholarship, the boxers will get a sum of 800 US dollars every month till August 2016, provided they qualify for the Olympic Games.
  • They will also get an additional 5000 US Dollars to cover their transportation cost for participation in the Olympic qualifying events.
  • Shiv Thapa is a World Championships` bronze-medalist in 56 kilogram segment and Mandeep Jangra is a Commonwealth Games silver-medalist in 69 kilogram segment.
  • Sumit Sangwan is a silver-medalist in at the 2010 Asian Championships and Gold-medalist at the Asian Olympic Qualifiers before the 2012 London Games.
  • Gaurav Bidhuri has made an impression by his run at the World Series of Boxing and has bagged a second successive stint, signed by the USA Knockouts franchise for the upcoming season.


2) Marlon Samuels handed one-year bowling ban for illegal action.

  • West Indies all-rounder Marlon Samuels has received a one-year suspension from bowling by the International Cricket Council after failing to clear a test on his action.
  • This was the second ban for the 34-year-old, whose bowling action came under review after the first Test defeat against Sri Lanka in October.
  • Samuels then had his action tested at the ICC accredited centre in Brisbane. 


3) Rory McIlroy bagged European Tour Golfer of the Year award.

  • Rory McIlroy was named the European Tour Golfer of the Year for the third time in four years.
  • McIlroy bagged the European Tour Golfer of the Year award after a panel consisting of members of the golfing media unanimously voted for him as the 2015 winner.
  • McIlroy was named the European Tour Golfer of the Year in 2014 and 2012.

About Rory Mcllroy:

  1. Rory McIlroy is a Northern Irish professional golfer from Holywood in County Down who is a member of both the European and PGA Tours.
  2. Currently he is World No.3 and he was World No.1 in the Official World Golf Ranking for 95 weeks.
  3. He is a four-time major champion, winning the 2011 U.S Open, 2012 PGA Championship, 2014 Open Championship, and 2014 PGA Championship. He is the first European to win three different majors.

4) Apurvi Chandela, Chain Singh won Gold at 59th National Shooting Championship.

  • Rajasthan`s Apurvi Chandela won a Gold medal in the 10 metre Air Rifle event on the final day of the 59th National Shooting Championship in Delhi.
  • In the Final, Chandela and her compatriot Geetakshi Dixit got the better of Anjum Moudgil of Haryana who had led throughout. While Geetakshi claimed the silver, Anjum had to settle for a Bronze.
  • Chain singh won gold in the 50 metre Rifle event. He pipped Olympic medalist Gagan Narang who settled for Silver. Swapnil Kusale of the Railways won Bronze.


5) Indian men break 11-year gold drought.

  • Indian men claimed the team championship beating England 3-1.
  • In the women’s section, a superior Singapore team expectedly defeated India 3-1 to retain the crown in the final of the 20th Avadh Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships.
  • The Indian men’s team last won the title in 2004 in Kuala Lumpur, with Sharath Kamal, Soumyadeep Roy and Subhajit Saha forming the core of the team.

6) Dhoni retained as captain till World T20.

  • Soon after retaining Mahendra Singh Dhoni as India’s captain till the World T20, chief selector Sandip Patil mentioned the Board wanted to end speculations and “send a signal” to players as to who would be their leader in the mega-event from March 8 to April 3.
  • Selectors named India’s One-day and Twenty20 squads for the upcoming Australia tour.
  • He is the most successful Indian captain. He has won two World Cups for India, taken India to No.1 Test rankings.


7) Abhay singh wins Singapore squash Open.

  • India’s squash player Abhay Singh won the boys Under-19 title, beating second seed Alwin Chai of Malaysia 11-8 11-3 11-8 in the final of the Old Chang Kee Singapore Squash Open.
  • Abhay, world number junior player, now has a tally of seven junior titles this year, two of them international.
  • Abhay, an ISA trainee, defeated Vivek Palaniappan of Singapore 11-2, 11-2, 11-1 in the first round, followed it up with a fighting win over 5/8 seed Yusuke Ogata of Japan, 13- 15, 11-3, 11-8, 10-12, 11-6.


8) Eugeneson Lyngdoh and Bala Devi won the All India Football Federations Player of the Year awards for 2015.

  • Eugenson Lyngdoh has been voted as the `2015 AIFF Player of the Year`. The announcement was made by AIFF President Mr. Praful Patel at AIFF Annual General Body Meeting held in Goa.
  • Midfielder Eugeneson Lyngdoh ended Sunil Chhetri`s two-year hold on the All India Football Federation (AIFF) men`s Player of the Year trophy, while in-form striker Bala Devi was chosen for the women`s honour for a second successive time in the AIFF Annual General Body Meeting.
  • Lyngdoh was chosen the winner on basis of votes from Coaches of I-League Clubs and he will be presented a prize of Rs. 2 lakh besides a trophy.
  • AIFF also introduced a new Award – the `2015 AIFF merging Woman Footballer of the Year` and it was bagged by Pyari Xaxa.
  • The ‘2015 AIFF Award for long time contribution to Indian Football was awarded to Coca Cola.
  • Meanwhile, C.R. Srikrishna won `2015 AIFF Award for Best Referee` while the `2015 AIFF Award for Best Assistant Referee` was awarded to Sapam Knnedy.


9) Chenniyan fc wins 2015 indian super league football champions.

  • Chennaiyin FC won the Indian Super League (ISL) title in the second edition of the competition after a dramatic 3-2 win over FC Goa at the Fatorda Stadium.
  • Stiven Mendoza won a penalty which Bruno Pelissari stepped up to take in the 54th minute but having seen his effort saved by Laxmikant Kattimani, he slotted away the rebound.
  1. Swift Moment of the Match: Edel Bete [Chennaiyin FC]
  2. Amul Fittest Player of the Match: Dhanachandra Singh [Chennaiyin FC]
  3. HP Transformer of the Match: Stiven Mendoza [Chennaiyin FC]
  4. ISL Emerging Player of the Match: T. Haokip [FC Goa]
  5. Hero of the Match: Joffre [FC Goa]
  6. Hero of the League: Stiven Mendoza [Chennaiyin FC]
  7. ISL Emerging Player of the League: Jeje Lalpekhlua [Chennaiyin FC]
  8. Golden Glove Award: Edel Bete [Chennaiyin FC]
  9. Muthoot Group Fair Play Award: Mumbai City FC