Sport Current Affairs
March 3rd Week 2015 Current Affairs
Category : Sport Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) India win’s Women’s FIH Hockey World League Round Two.

  • India has won FIH Women’s Hockey World League Round Two competition title.
  • In the final match played at Major Dhyan Chand stadium in New Delhi, Indian women team defeated Poland team.
  • In this match, from Indian side Vandana Kataria Ritu Rani scored two goals which led to victory. Polish team’s Oriana Walasek scored goal for her team.
  • It should be noted that Women’s Hockey World League Round Two, Indian team was victorious with clean sweep i.e. winning all the six matches played over in this tournament.
Rankings of teams:
  1. India - 1st
  2. Poland - 2nd
  3. Malysia - 3rd
  4. Thailand - 4th
  5. Russia - 5th
2) Services clinched 69th Santhosh Trophy football title 2015.
  • Services have won 69th Santhosh Trophy football title 2014-2015. In the final match Services defeated host Punjab at Guru Nanak Stadium in Ludhiana, Punjab.
  • In the final match both teams failed to score a goal in regulation period. But, in tie-breaker penalty shootout all the five players of Services including Captain Anthony, Arun Tudu, Vibin, Francis Zonuntulnga and Rakesh Singh scored goal which led them to victory.
  • With this win Services have won this title for fourth time besides finishing runners -up on five occasions. Previously Services had won the Santhosh Trophy in year 1961, 2012, 2013.
About Santhosh Trophy:
  1. Founded: 1941.
  2. It is an annual Indian football tournament.
  3. Trophy is named after the late Maharaja Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santhosh (that is now in Bangladesh).

3) India`s new hockey coach Paul van Ass took charge:

  • Paul van Ass took charge as chief coach of the Indian men’s hockey team.
  • Van Ass, known for his outspoken and controversial nature, had replaced Australian Terry Walsh under whom India won the Incheon Asian Games to qualify for the 2016 Rio Olympics.
  • Van Ass had been handed a contract till the 2018 World Cup by his new employer, the Sports Authority of India.
  • Prior to this he was the coach of Netherlands.
4) Lewis Hamilton of Britain won Australian Grand Prix of Formula One.
  • Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton of Britain won the 2015 Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix at Albert Park, Melbourne, Australia. Only 11 cars were able to take the chequered flag.
  • This was the first Australian Grand Prix win for Lewis Hamilton since 2008 and overall it was his 34th Grand Prix.
  • Hamilton, who led the race from start to finish, was followed by teammate Nico Rosberg (second place), Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari), Felipe Massa (Williams).
Ranking Player Team
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
4 Felipe Massa Williams
5 Felipe Nasr Sauber
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India
8 Marcus Ericsson Sauber
9 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso
10 Sergio Perez Force India



5) Sri Lankan duo Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara retired from ODI cricket.

  • Veteran cricketers of Sri Lanka Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara retired from the One Day International format of Cricket.
  • The Two veteran cricketers retired after the World Cup quarter-final match against South Africa played at Sydney Cricket Ground, Australia.
  • In the quarter-final Sri Lanka lost the match by 9 wickets to South Africa.
  • Both the much celebrated cricketers of Sri Lanka had earlier announced that 2015 World Cup would be their final ODI.
  • Sangakkara and Jayawardene were part of the Sri Lankan Cricketer team that reached the final of the World Cup 2007 and 20011 but lost the final.
  1. Sangakkara played 404 ODIs and scored 14234 runs at an average of 41.98. In the current session of 2015 World Cup of cricket, he created a record of four consecutive ODI hundreds.
  2. Sangakkara who scored 541 runs in 7 matches of this edition of the World Cup is still the highest run-scorer of the tournament so far. He is the sixth player to score 500 runs in the World Cup.
  3. Earlier, Sangakkara had announced his retirement from Test Cricket. He will retire after playing the three-match Test series against India in August 2015. In his Test match career till date, he has scored 38 centuries and 51 half-centuries in 130 matches In his ODIs Career he has scored 25 centuries and 93 half-centuries.
  4. Jayawardene, on the other hand, played 448 ODI and scored 12650 runs at an average of 33.37. He retired from the Test Cricket on August 2014. In his Test match career, he scored 11814 in 149 matches.
6) Mahendra Singh Dhoni became first Indian Captain to register 100 ODI wins.
  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the Captain of Indian One Day International (ODI) Cricket team became the first Indian Captain and third in the history of the game, to lead his country to 100 ODI wins. He reached the milestone of 100 wins in 178th ODI.
  • By achieving this fete, he joined the Australian pair of Ricky Ponting (165 wins) and Allan Border (107 wins).
  • Dhoni achieved the fete after India defeated Bangladesh by 109 run in their 2015 ICC World Cup quarter-final in Melbourne Cricket Ground.
  • With the win, Indian cricket team led by Dhoni became the first ever side to take 70 wickets in seven consecutive World Cup games.
  • The quarter-final win over Bangladesh also helped India to register a record ninth knock-out win in ICC tournaments, which included the 2007 World T20, 2011 World Cup and 2013 Champion Trophy titles.
  • The 33-year old wicketkeeper batsman in 2007 took over the ODI captaincy from Rahul Dravid and led the team to its first-ever bilateral ODI series in Sri Lanka and New Zealand.
7) Martin Guptill hits highest score of 237 in Cricket World Cup.
  • New Zealand’s Martin Guptill created a Cricket World Cup record by scoring highest score of 237 runs not out.
  • He achieved this feat in match against West Indies in the 2015 ICC World Cup quarter-final played at WestpacTrust Stadium, Wellington. He scored 237 runs from 163 balls that included 11 sixes and 24 fours.
  • Martin Guptill also became the first New Zealand cricketer to score double century in One Day Internationals (ODIs).
  • His double ton also broke the previous record of West Indies Chris Gayle who had scored first double century in Cricket World Cup 2015. Chris Gayle had scored 215 runs from 147-balls in a match against Zimbabwe on 24 February 2015.
  • It should be noted that Guptill is 5th cricketer to score double century in ODI’s. Others are Indian cricketers Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and Rohit Sharma (scored two double centuries) and West Indies Chris Gayle.
8) Pakistani cricketers Misbah-ul-Haq, Shaid Afridi retired from ODI cricket.
  • Pakistani cricketers, Misbah-ul-Haq and Shaid Afridi retired from the One Day International (ODI) format of cricket.
  • They retired after the World Cup quarter-final match against Australia played at Adelaide, Australia. In the quarter-final, they lost to Australia by six-wickets.
  • Though Misbah will continue to play in the Test matches but Afridi will feature only in T20 format of the cricket.
  • About Misbah-Ul-Haq:
  • 5122 runs in 162 ODI Matches (top score 96*).
  • 3,658 runs in 51 Test Matches (top score 161*).
  • 788 runs in 39 T20 Matches (top score 87*).
About Shahid Afridi:
  1. 8,019 runs in 395 ODI Matches (top score 124).
  2. 1,716 runs in 27 Test Matches (top score 156).
  3. 1142 runs in 77 T20 Matches (top score 54*).