Sport Current Affairs
June 4th Week 2015 Current Affairs
Category : Sport Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) Inderjeet and Jinson strike gold.

  • Kerala’s two-lapper Jinson Johnson and Haryana’s shot putter Inderjeet Singh struck gold in the first leg of the Asian Grand Prix athletics series in Bangkok, Thailand.
  • This was Inderjeet`s second gold in an international event in June 2015, having won the shot put event at the Asian Championships in Wuhan, China on 3 June 2015.
  • In the first leg, India won a total of eight medals which included 2 Gold, 1 Silver and 5 Bronze medals.
2) Indian Railways strikes gold in tennis, volleyball at 2015 USIC Championships.
  • The Indian Railway Team won the World Railway Championship 2015 in Tennis and Volleyball.
  • In the World Railways Tennis Championship 2015, Indian Railway Team defeated France by a margin of 3-1 in the finals and won USIC Tennis Championship 2015. It was held at Nuremberg, Germany.
  • In the Volleyball (World Railways) Championship 2015, Indian Railway Team defeated Russian team in the finals and won USIC Volleyball Championship 2015. It was held at Gomel, Belarus.
Facts About USIC:
  1. USIC (Union Sportive Internationale des Cheminots) is an international railways sporting association with members from various countries. The purpose of USIC is to encourage the practice of amateur sports among railway employees in all over the world.
3) Bangladesh won 3 match ODI series against India 2-1.
  • Bangladesh won the three-match One Day International (ODI) Series against India 2-1 played at home. This was Bangladesh`s first series win against India.
  • First two matches of the series won by Bangladesh and the final one was won by the Indian team.
  • Mustafizur Rahman of Bangladesh claimed the Man of the Series Award for his outstanding bowling performance. He picked up 13 wickets in the three matches.
4) Sachin Tendulkar named as greatest Test player of 21st century.
  • Former Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar was voted as the Best Test Player of the 21st century in an online poll titled Top-100 Test players` list since 2000.
  • The poll conducted by Cricket Australia’s website,
  • Sachin received highest number of votes (23 percent votes) to emerge on the top of list of 100 best Test players since 2000. The survey was participated by more than 16000 fans.
  • Sachin was followed by Srilankan great Kumar Sangakkara and Australian wicket keeper batsman Adam Gilchrist.

5) Zaheer Abbas appointed as ICC President.

  • Former Pakistan cricket team captain Zaheer Abbas has been selected the new President of International Cricket Council (ICC) for one year term.
  • He will be 13th President of ICC and succeeds Mustafa Kamal of Bangladesh who had resigned from the post of ICC President.
  • Decision in this regard was taken during the ICC Annual Conference week in Barbados.
  • Zaheer Abbas was a right-handed batsman. He had played 78 Tests and 62 One-Day Internationals (ODIs) in his 22-year long illustrious career spanning from 1969 to 1985.
  • He also had represented Pakistan in three World Cups in 1975, 1979 and 1983.
6) A century of men’s doubles partners now for Paes.
  • India’s tennis player Leander Paes became the 47th player to play with 100 different partners on ATP Circuit.
  • The 42-year-old achieved this land mark feat when he joined Marcel Granollers of Spain in a match against Treat Huey and Scott Lipsky at the Aegon Open in Nottingham, the UK.
  • Out of these 100 partners, While 71 played with him on the tour level, 29 at the Challenger level.
  • Among all the partners, Paes had been most successful with his Indian partner Mahesh Bhuapthi with whom he won three of his eight men’s doubles Grand Slam titles.
  • He won two each with Radek Stepanek and Lukas Dlouhy and one with Martin Damm, all of them are from Czech Republic.
7) Veselin Topalov, winner of Norway Chess 2015.
  • Veselin Topalov won the Norway Chess tournament 2015 by leaving behind Viswanathan Anand into a quick draw. Topalov secured 6½ points while Anand ended the tournament in second place with 6 points.
  • Hikaru Nakamura showed excellent technique and won by 6 points and stood at third place by leaving behind Levon Aronian with 3 points.
  • Magnus Carlsen played very poorly again losing to Jon Ludwig Hammer who got 3 points.
8) Satnam Singh Bhamara becomes first Indian basketball player to be drafted by a NBA team.
  • Satnam Singh Bhamara became the first Indian national to join National Basketball Association (NBA) of USA.
  • The 19 years old Punjab-born player was the 52nd overall pick at the 2015 draft by the Dallas Mavericks. He will represent the team during the upcoming 2015-16 season.
  • Earlier, Sim Bhullar became the first basketball player of Indian origin to join the NBA. He hails from Canada and his parents are from Punjab. He played for a brief period for the Sacramento Kings during the 2014-15 season.
About Satnam Singh Bhamara:
  1. He was born at Ballo Ke near Ludhiana in Punjab. He is 7 ft 2 in tall and weighs 110 kg.
  2. He represented the Indian national basketball team at the 2011 FIBA Asia Championship and the 2013 FIBA Asia Championship.
  3. In 2010, he moved to Florida in USA as part of a scholarship program between IMG and Reliance for training. Since then, he has been training at the IMG Reliance Academy.

9) Jwala-Ashwni won women`s doubles of Canada Open Badminton tournament 2015.

  • Indian pair of Jwala Gutta and Ashwni Ponappa won the women`s doubles of Canada Open Badminton tournament 2015.
  • In the final played at Calgary, the third seeded Indian pair defeated top Dutch pair of Eefje Muskens and Selena Piek in straight games.
  • This was first title of the 2015 season for the duo.
Other Results of Canada Open:
  1. Men’s Singles: Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia) defeated Ng Ka Long Angus (Hong Kong).
  2. Women’s singles: Michelle Li (Canada) defeated Kaori Imabeppu (Japan).
  3. Mixed Doubles: Li Junhui and Liu Yuchen (China) defeated Kaixiang Huang and Sijie Wang (China).
10) Nelson Piquet Jr won the inaugural FIA Formula E Championship title.
  • Brazilian racer Nelson Piquet Jr won the FIA Formula E Championship title of the 2014-15 season. He won the title after finishing seventh in the final race held at Battersea Park in London, the UK. He drove for Chinese team Nextev.
  • It is the first such championship held by FIA, the global governing body for auto racing events.
  • The first race was held in the Chinese capital Beijing in September 2014 and the championship included 11 races held in 10 different host cities.
About Formula E Championship:
  1. It is the highest class of competition for one-make, single-seater, electrically powered racing cars and was conceived in 2012.
  2. It was created in order to attract a new audience to the sport and help develop electric technology for the automotive industry.
  3. Cars accelerate from 0–100 km/h in 3 seconds, with a maximum speed of 225 km/h.
11) Rahane to lead India for Zimbabwe tour.
  • Senior players like Captain M.S. Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav and R. Ashwin were rested.
  • Veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh staged a comeback to the ODI squad after a gap of four years as a second-string team was named for next month’s tour of Zimbabwe with the selectors opting to rest most of the senior players.
12) Adelaide to host first day-night Test.
  • Australia and New Zealand will play the first ever day-night Test under lights with a pink ball in November at the Adelaide Oval.
  • The historic event on November 27 will be the third Test of a three-match series against the Black Caps on Australian soil this summer and will be the first to be played under lights and with a pink Kookaburra ball.