leading educational portal of india
Most Recent Articles
Most Rated Articles

Defence & Police

Education Loans

General Knowledge

Hobbies& Habits

National Symbols


Products & features

Travel/ Tourism

Awards Current Affairs
January 4th week 2015 current affairs
Author : uppy
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments : 0
0 / 5 (0 votes)

Tags :
current affairs january 4th week 2015, current affairs 2015, january 4th bweek current affairs questions, january 4thweek current affairs news, english current affairs january 4th week 2015, january 4th week 2015 india current affairs, january 4th week 2015 manabadi current affairs

January 4th week 2015 current affairs


  • M.Y.S. Prasad, director of Satish Dhawan Space Centre, Sriharikota Range (SHAR), has been selected for the Vikram Sarabhai memorial award to be presented by the Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA)
  • Dr. Prasad is selected for his outstanding contribution to R&D in the field of space science in his long and chequered career at the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). Prior to Dr. Prasad, those who received this award were former ISRO chairmen Dr. Satish Dhawan, Dr. K. Kasturi Rangan, Dr. G. Madhavan Nair and Dr. K. Radhakrishnan.
  • The ISCA, which is a premier scientific organization of the country established in 1914 in Kolkata, has been giving this award in alternate years.


2) Peta awards:

  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi and actor Rekha, who both follow a vegetarian diet, have been crowned ‘hottest vegetarian celebrities’ by animal rights organisation PETA India for making plant-based foods more popular than ever in 2014.
  • This year’s competition named ‘PETA India’s hottest vegetarian celebrities’ was tougher than ever — but no one was more deserving than Mr. Modi and Ms. Rekha for the title, the organisation said in a release.
  • The two winners beat out a strong group of competitors, including actors Amitabh Bachchan, Kangana Ranaut, Hema Malini, Shahid Kapoor, Vidya Balan, R Madhavan and Vidyut Jammwal, it said.



  • Tamil Nadu Governor Rosaiah conferred Sangita Kalanidhi award on musician T.V. Gopalakrishnan, the Sangita Kala Acharya award on musicians Mangad K. Natesan and Alamelu Mani, the TTK award on Malladi Suribabu and Udaiyalur Kalyanaraman and the Musicologist award on Padma Murthy.



Receive All Updates Via Facebook