Awards Current Affairs
february 4th week 2015 current affairs
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) Shahid Kapoor, Kangna Ranaut bag best actor Film fare awards


  • Shahid Kapoor won the Film fare award for Best Actor (Male) for his performance in the film “Haider”, while KangnaRanaut received the Best Actor (Female) award for “Queen”, at the 60th Britannia Film fare Awards ceremony
  • Rajat Kapoor`s critically acclaimed film “Ankhon Dekhi” won the Best Film (Critics) award. The prize for the Best Male Actor (Critics) went to Sanjay Mishra for “Ankhon Dekhi” and the Best Female Actor (Critics) award was given to Alia Bhatt for her performance in “Highway”.

2) Indian short wins at Sundance film fest


  • 175 Grams, directed by Bharat Mirle and Aravind Iyer, is one of the five Short Film Challenge winning films at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival. Sundance Institute premiered the Sundance Institute Short Film Challenge, a program of nine international short films on January 28, at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival held at Utah.
  • The program is designed to spark global conversation about solutions to challenges like extreme hunger and poverty. The short films were due to premiere on a variety of digital
  • Apart from "175 Grams", the Short Film Challenge winning short films and directors are: "Man in the Maze" by Phil Buccellato and Jesse Ash (US), "Dropping In" by Willem Van Den Heever (South Africa), "Isabelle`s Garden" by Jeffrey Palmer (US), and "A Will of Iron" by Seyi Fabunmi and Mobolaji Adeolu (Nigeria). Each filmmaker or film team received a $10,000 grant.


3) Cyrus s. Poonawalla:

  • Cyrus S Poonawalla, Serum Institute of India’s chairman and managing director, who pioneered the development of affordable life-saving vaccines, was on 5th February named EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2014.
  • K Radhakrishnan, the former chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) who oversaw the breakthrough Mangalyaan mission, was honoured with the EY Lifetime Achievement Award.

Winners in other categories:

  1. Start-Up: Kunal Bahl and Rohit Bansal CEO and COO, Jasper Infotech (Snapdeal);
  2. Services: Ajit Prabhu, chairman and CEO, QuEST Global;
  3. Manufacturing: Yogesh Mahansaria, CEO, Alliance Tire Group;
  4. Entrepreneurial CEO: Arundhati Bhattacharya, chairman, SBI;
  5. Financial Services: Sanjiv Bajaj, MD, Bajaj Finserv;
  6. Life Sciences and Agrochemicals: Salil Singhal, CMD,
  7. PI Industries; and Consumer Products: MB Parekh, CMD, Pidilite Industries.


4) Bhalachandra Nemade:

  • Eminent Marathi litterateur BhalachandraNemade has been chosen for the 50th Jnanpith Award for 2014.Born in 1938, Namade occupies a unique place in Marathi literature. His hugely celebrated works -- from "Kosala", 1963 to his recently-published magnum opus "Hindu" -- have earned him a reputation as a self-aware, globally conscious and alert writer. He has also been conferred the Padma Shri and has won the Sahitya Akademi Award besides many other accolades.

5) Award for HCU


  • The President of India, Pranab Mukherjee presented Visitor’s Awards for Central Universities in the categories of ‘Best University’, ‘Innovation’ and ‘Research’ for the year 2015 on 4th February
  • The University of Hyderabad received ‘Best University’ Award for academic excellence & overall outstanding work.
  • ‘Innovation’ Award was presented to Prof. Vijay K. Chaudhary and Dr. Amita Gupta of University of Delhi for their invention of ‘TB Confirm’, a rapid diagnostic test for Tuberculosis.
  • The ‘Research’ Award was received by Cosmology and Astrophysics Research Group, Centre for Theoretical Physics, Jamia Millia Islamia for path breaking research carried out in the field of Astrophysics and Cosmology.
  • The ‘Best University’ received a Citation and Trophy while winners of Visitor’s Award for ‘Innovation’ and ‘Research’ received a Citation and cash award of Rs. one lakh.