Awards Current Affairs
february 3rd week 2015 current affairs
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) Grammys 2015: Indian origin musician among winners

  • At the 57th Grammy Awards held on 8th February in Los Angeles, Bangalore based Indian origin musician Ricky Kej won the best new age album award for his album `Winds of Samsara`, which was his collaboration with African flautist Wouter Kellerman
  • Self-taught musician Kej, has previously composed soundtracks for Kannada films. `Winds of Samsara`, with multiple collaborations, is his 14th studio album and the composition talks of the cycle of life. On the US Billboard New Age Albums last year, it had debuted on the number one slot.

2) Amartya Sen:

  • Economist and Nobel laureate Amartya Sen has won the newly instituted Charleston-EFG John Maynard Keynes Prize.
  • Regarded as one of the foremost thinkers in the field of famine, poverty, social choice and welfare economics, Professor Sen’s ground-breaking work has been academically influential and has had a profound impact on the formation of development policy worldwide.
  • Currently a Professor of Economics and Philosophy at Harvard University, he has been a Professor at the London School of Economics and until 2004 was Master of Trinity College, Cambridge. His books have been translated into more than 30 languages.The prize was announced by Dame Liz Forgan at the Royal Academy. Professor Sen will receive £7,500 to commission a work of art and will give the annual Charleston-EFG Keynes Lecture at the Charleston Festival in the UK.


3) Amlan Aditya Biswas, P.C. Jaffer:

  • Election Commission of India has selected Amlan Aditya Biswas, Regional Commissioner, and P.C. Jaffer, Deputy Commissioner, Bidar, for significant contribution to the conduct of elections in the year 2014
  • They were selected for the zonal award in the category of manpower management and expenditure monitoring. The awards were presented at a ceremony in Hyderabad.

4) Nayudumma award declared


  • Two women scientists, who have made a mark in defence research development and space research have been chosen as joint recipients of Dr.Y. Nayudamma Memorial Award 2014. Director, Advanced Systems Laboratory of the Defence Research and Development Organisation, Hyderabad and Project Director (Mission) Agni V, Tessy Thomas and Director, Advanced Data Processing Research Institute of ISRO, Geeta Varadan, would be conferred the award for their contribution in the fields of missile technology and remote sensing at Tenali on March 1. Former Head of the National Commission for Protection of Child Rights and Ramon Magsaysay Award recipient Shanta Sinha will present the award.
  • Founder and Managing Trustee of the Dr. Y. Nayudamma Memorial Trust, P. Vishnu Murthy said in a media release on Saturday that this was the first time in the annals of the trust that two eminent women scientists were being concurrently honoured.
  • The award was instituted in 1986 in memory of global leather scientist and former director general of CSIR, Yelavarthy Nayudamma. Among the distinguished scientists and technocrats honoured with the award were, Sam Pitroda, Jayant Vishnu Narlikar, Lalji Singh, Rajendra Pawar, V. Shanta, V.K. Saraswat, T. Ramasami, A. Sivathanu Pillai and Nori Dattatreyudu etc.


5) AIFF awards


  • Indian men’s football team captain Sunil Chhetri and striker Bala Devi were awarded with the All India Football Federations (AIFF) 2014 Player of the Year trophy in men and women category, respectively.

Others awards are….

  • 2014 Player of the year (Men): Sunil Chhetri
  • 2014 Player of the year (Women): Bala Devi
  • 2014 Emerging Player of the Year: Sandesh Jhingan
  • 2014 Best Referee: Santosh Kumar
  • 2014 Best Assistant Referee: Sappam Kennedy
  • Best Grassroots Programme: Western India Football Association (WIFA)
  • Long Time Contribution to Indian Football: Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC)