Awards Current Affairs
March 4th week 2015 current affairs
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) Krishna Podagatlapalli:

  • Krishna Podagatlapalli, a senior research scholar at Advance Centre for Research in High Energy Materials (ACRHEM), University of Hyderabad (UoH) under the guidance of Dr Soma Venugopal Rao has been selected for the best poster award in Frontiers in Nano Science, Technology and Application (FiNSTA) held at Sri Satya Sai Institute of Higher Learning (SSSIHL), Anantapur. He received award for his research paper entitled, "Ag nanomaterials fabricated through laser ablation in aqueous media using an axicon".

2) Ganasen Reddy:

  • Ganasen Reddy, an Indian-origin South African educator, was on 12 March 2015 awarded with KwaZulu-Natal 2015 National Teachers Awards at the annual National Teaching Awards held in Johannesburg. KwaZulu-Natal 2015 National Teachers Awards is a Lifetime Achievement Award for teaching in South Africa.
  • Ganasen Reddy was felicitated by South African minister of basic education Angie Motshekga. The award was given to Reddy for sustaining a high-level of achievement throughout his long teaching career by receiving results, awards and recognition over a long period of time.


3) Debapratim Purkayastha:

  • Debapratim Purkayastha, Associate Dean at ICFAI Business School (IBS), Hyderabad won the “Lifetime Achievement Award” for the outstanding contribution to the Case Method this year.
  • He is the first Indian to get this award apart from being the youngest recipient given by the Case Centre, which is a not-for-profit organisation based in United Kingdom that works towards advancing the case method worldwide, sharing knowledge and experience to transform business education across the globe. The awards are considered the case method community`s annual ‘Oscars’.
  • Previous winners included Peter Killing and Kamran Kashani, IMD Business School, Switzerland; James A Erskine, Michiel R Leenders and Louise A Mauffette-Leenders of Richard Ivey School of Business, Canada and Nirmalya Kumar, London Business School, United Kingdom.

4) ESAF Micro journal wins award


  • The PR Council of India, Kerala chapter, and Press Club, Ernakulam, has chosen ‘Lahanti,’ the quarterly newsletter from ESAF Microfinance, as the corporate journal with the best content. Chief Minister OommenChandy handed over the award to K Paul Thomas, Chairman and Managing Director, ESAF Microfinance; Mereena Paul, Co-founder and Head-Human Resources; and Sony V Mathew, Editor, Lahanti, which is a Santhali (a tribal language) equivalent for development.


5) Hifikepunye pohamba: 

  • Namibia’s outgoing President Hifikepunye Pohamba on 2nd March winner of the Mo Ibrahim Prize for “good governance” in Africa, the world’s richest award.
  • A lack of eligible or worthy candidates means that Hifikepunye Pohamba is only the fourth winner of the $5 million annual prize since its launch in 2007. The award, founded by Sudanese-British telecoms entrepreneur and billionaire Mo Ibrahim, is given to a democratically-elected former head of state who left office in the previous three years and who demonstrated exceptional leadership while abiding by constitutional term limits.

6) Gautham Pai:

  • The Mumbai Mudrak Sangh (MMS) on 3rd March felicitated Gautham Pai, promoter and managing director of The Manipal Group, with the Lifetime Achievement Award on the occasion of MMS Printer’s Day celebration. Maharashtra Industries Minister Subhash Desai presented the award.
  • Mr. Pai, a student of printing technology at the Manipal Institute of Technology, inherited the business in 2004 from his father. He is the youngest recipient. Manipal Technologies is also the only company to win the PrintWeek India’s ‘Company of the Year’ award twice.