Awards Current Affairs
March 2nd week 2015 current affairs
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) Akhil Sharma:

  • Akhil Sharma beat Irish novelist Colm Toibin and Scottish writer Ali Smith to win the Folio Book prize, which is worth of £40,000 prize for his book, Family Life. Indian-born Sharma picked up his award at a ceremony at the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel in central London.
  • Family Life, his second novel, tells the story of a family`s journey from India to a new life in the United States. It was selected by the New York Times as one of its Top Ten Books for 2014. Sharma was born in Delhi and emigrated to the US in 1979.

2) Vajpayee:

  • Former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, a veteran Parliamentarian and founder member of BJP who is held in high esteem across the political spectrum, was conferred the Bharat Ratna, the country`s highest civilian honour on 27th March. President Pranab Mukherjee conferred the award on Vajpayee at his residence
  • Vajpayee is the first non-Congress Prime Minister who completed a full term. His first term was of 13 days in 1996, followed by a 13 month term starting 1998. He was at the helm for 5 years from 1999 to 2004.

3) ISRO:

  • Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) has been selected for the Gandhi Peace Prize for 2014 for its contribution to the country’s development through space technology and satellite-based services. The award, comprising crore and a citation, was decided after the jury for the prize met under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 27th March.
  • The Gandhi Peace Prize for social, economic and political transformation through non-violence was instituted in 1995.

4) Previous winners:


  • Some of its previous winners are Nelson Mandela, Vaclav Havel, Julius K Nyerere, Baba Amte, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Grameen Bank of Bangladesh, Bharatiya Vidya Bhawan and Ramkrishna Mission.


  • An Indian-American and a Sri Lankan-origin scientist and teacher are among fourteen individuals and one organization named winners of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM).
  • Andhra University graduate Murty S. Kambhampati, a professor of biology at Southern University at New Orleans, and Sri Lankan origin Tilak Ratnanather, an associate professor in the biomedical engineering department of the Johns Hopkins University, Maryland will receive their awards at a White House ceremony later this year.
  • The PAESMEM is awarded by the White House to individuals and organizations to recognize the crucial role that mentoring plays in the academic and personal development of students studying science and engineering-particularly those who belong to groups that are underrepresented in these fields.
  • In addition to being honoured at the White House, recipients receive awards of $10,000 from the National Science Foundation. The mentors and organizations announced Fridat represent the winners for 2012 and 2013.
  • Kambhampati holds a PhD from Jackson State University in Environmental Science and a PhD from Andhra University, India in Ecology. Over the years, he established excellent collaborations with several instittions to place students for summer internships and ecological field trips. according to his profile