Awards Current Affairs
April 3rd week 2015 current affairs
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) Satya Nadella: 

  • Microsoft’s Indian-origin CEO Satya Nadella was honoured with the White House Champions of Change on 16 April 2015. He is one of the 12 local Champions of Change who were honoured for their exemplary leadership. Champions of Change honour is given to those who support working families and help make change in their companies or communities.

2) Susanta Lahiri and Kattesh V Katti:

  • Prof. Susanta Lahiri and Kattesh V. Katti received Hevesy medal Award 2015 for their outstanding contributions in the fields of radio and nuclear chemistry.

  • The awards were given to them on twelve Apr 2015 at the Tenth International Conference on ways and Applications of Radio-analytical Chemistry organized in USA.

  • Susanta Lahiri is a professor at Chemical Sciences Division, Saha Institute of nuclear physics in Kolkata. He won the award for his contributions to heavy ion induced radioisotope production, converter targets, green chemistry and tracer packet technique. He is also credited with co-creating Ununseptium chemical element (atomic number 117) together with other national and international scientists.

  • Kattesh V. Katti is a professor at the Cedntre for radiological research, University of Missouri in Columbia, the US. His research interests in the domain of Nano Science and Technology include exploring chemical, biophysical, magnetic and photo physical properties that are unique to specific nanoparticulates, toward the design and development of sophisticated diagnostic and therapeutic agents.

  • The Hevesy medal Award 2014 was presented to Heino Nitsche of University of California in recognition of his international contributions to heavy element chemistry and actinide environmental chemistry.
  • The award is the premier international award of excellence honoring outstanding achievements in radio and nuclear chemistry.
  • It is named after chemical scientist george de Hevesy (1885-1966), who received the nobel prize for Chemistry in 1943 for his work on the use of isotopes as tracers within the study of chemical processes.
  • The award was established in 1968 by the Editor-in-Chief and the (then) publishers of the Journal of Radioanalytical and nuclear chemistry (JRNC).


3) Amitabh Bachchan, Karim Aga Khan get Padma Vibhushan


  • Amitabh Bachchan and Karim Aga Khan were among the eminent personalities awarded the Padma Vibhushan, country`s second highest civilian honour.
  • President Pranab Mukherjee conferred the awards at civil investiture ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi on 8th April.
  • Senior Supreme Court advocate K K Venugopal and well known Jain philanthropist D Veerendra Heggade from Karnataka were also conferred the Padma Vibhushan.
  • Renowned Assamese filmmaker Jahnu Barua and computer scientist Vijay Bhatkar were given the Padma Bhushan, third highest civilian honour.
  • Hockey player Saba Anjum, women cricketer Mithali Raj, economist Bibek Debroy, former Infosys top executive Mohandas Pai and musician Ravindra Jain were given Padma Shri.