leading educational portal of india
Most Recent Articles
Most Rated Articles

Defence & Police

Education Loans

General Knowledge

Hobbies& Habits

National Symbols


Products & features

Travel/ Tourism

Awards Current Affairs
May 2nd week 2015 current affairs
Author : uppy
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments : 0
0 / 5 (0 votes)

Tags :
current affairs may 2nd week 2015, current affairs 2015, june 2nd week current affairs questions, may 2nd week current affairs news, english current affairs may 2nd week 2015, may 2nd week 2015 india current affairs, may 2nd week 2015 manabadi current affairs, may 2nd week awards,

May 2nd week 2015 current affairs

1) Veteran Bollywood actor Shashi Kapoor bestowed with Dada Saheb Phalke award.


  • Veteran Bollywood actor Shashi Kapoor honoured with the prestigious Dada Saheb Phalke award by Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Arun Jaitley at Prithvi Theatre, Mumbai.
  •  Shashi Kapoor became the 46th winner of the award.
  •  He was awarded for his outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema.
  •  Shashi Kapoor is the 3rd Person to Receive the Prestigious award from same family.
  •  Prithviraj Kapoor: 1971.
  •  Raj Kapoor: 1987.
  •  Shashi Kapoor: 2015.
  •  Shashi Kapoor best known performances as child artist were in Aag (1948), Awaara (1951) and Sangram (1950).
  •  Shashi Kapoor is also best-known for his performances in Hindi films like ‘Jab Jab Phool Khile’, ‘Deewar’ and ‘Kabhi Kabhie’.
  • About Dadasaheb Phalke Award:
  •  India’s highest award in cinema.
  •  Established in 1969 to commemorate the birth centenary year of father of Indian cinema Dadasaheb Phalke.
  •  The award is conferred annually by the Union Government to person for his lifetime contribution to Indian cinema.
  •  Award comprises a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, a cash prize of 10 lakh rupees and a shawl.

2) Dr. Siva Mandjiny wins UNC’s 2015 Award for Teaching Excellence.

  • An Indian-American professor of chemistry from Tamil Nadu has won the University of North Carolina (UNC) Board of Governors 2015 Award for Excellence in Teaching.
  •  The award carries a cash prize of 12,500 US dollars and a commemorative Bronze.
  •  The award, which serves to underscore the importance of teaching, will be presented by a member of the Board of Governors to one professor at each of the 17 UNC campuses to receive the award during spring graduation ceremonies.
  • About Dr. Siva Mandjiny:
  •  Dr. Siva Mandjiny did his Masters degree in biochemical engineering from IIT, a second master’s degree in chemical engineering from University of Toronto and PhD from universite de Technologie de Compiegne in France.
  •  Dr. Siva Mandjiny is a distinguished scholar with any published research papers, conference presentations etc.
  •  Dr. Siva Mandjiny is also recipient of three Excellence in Teaching awards from the Students-Athlete Advisory Committee, and won university’s Outstanding Teaching Award in 2006.


3) Indian Writer Neel Mukherjee Wins Encore Award.


  • Kolkata-born writer Neel Mukherjee`s "The Lives of Others" has won the UK`s Encore Award for the best second novel.
  •  His book `Past Continuous` won the `Vodafone-Crossword Book Award` in 2008.
  •  `The Lives of Others` was shortlisted for the 2014 Man Booker Prize.
  •  The novel The Lives of Others reflects the political and social convulsions of an entire society and based upon story of one family living in Calcutta in 1960s.
  •  Neel Mukherjee’s first novel `A Life Apart` was published in 2010.
  • About Encore Award:
  •  This award was started in the year 1990 and sponsored by Lucy Astor.
  •  The cash prize associated with this is 10,000 pounds.
  •  Peter Benson and Paul Watkinswere the first recipients of this award in 1990.

4) President Pranab Mukherjee conferred the Presidential Awards for Classical Tamil.

  • President Pranab Mukherjee conferred the Presidential Awards for Classical Tamil for the years 2011-12 and 2012-13.
  •  The award was conferred on scholars who have made outstanding contribution to the development of Classical Tamil language and literature.
  • Awardees:
  •  Tolkappiyar Award for lifetime achievement in Classical Tamil was given to SV Shanmugam for year 2011-12 and R Krishnamurthi for year 2012-13.
  •  Kural Pitam Award was given to Eva Maria Wilden of Germany for 2011-12.
  •  Young Scholar Awards was presented to E. Ezhilvasanthan, K. Jawahar and K. Iyyappan for 2011-12 while for the year 2012-13 was given to R. Venkatesan, A. Sathish, M.R. Devak, U. Alibava and B. Jaiganesh.

About the Presidential Awards for Classical Tamil:

  1. These awards were instituted by the HRD or Ministry of Human Resources Department.
  2.  These awards recognise distinguished scholars who had made outstanding contributions in the development of Classical tamil language and literature.
  3.  Citation and shawl apart from cash award of 5 lakhs for Tolkappiyar and Kural pitam awardees and 1 lakhs for Young scholar awardees.


5) Anurradha Prasad conferred with Pt. Haridutt Sharma Award for Journalism and Social Services.


  •  The Vice President of India Shri M. Hamid Ansari conferred the “Pt. Haridutt Sharma Award” in the field of Journalism, Writing and Social Services to Smt. Anurradha Prasad, Editor-in-Chief, News-24 Channel.
  •  The award is given in the memory of Pt. Haridutt Sharma who was a renowned journalist and eminent writer.
  • About:
  •  The award is given annually in the field of Journalism, Writing and Social Services for the outstanding contribution in their respective field.
  •  The Award comprises of Cash prize of 51000 rupees, Citation, Trophy, Shawl and Souvenir.

6) Indian-American Harkeert Singh Saini won Prestigious Police Award in Texas.

  • Prestigious award, “Top Civilian Supervisor of the Year”, was presented to the 44 year old Indo-American policemen, Harkeert Singh Saini at Hyatt Regency Hotel in Houston.
  •  He was conferred with this award for his efficient services to Houston Police department, in the Texas state of USA.
  •  He received this award from Mayor of Houston Anise Parker and Chief of Police Charles McClelland.
  • About Harkeert Singh
  •  Harkeert Singh belongs to Hoshiarpur district of Punjab, who completed his graduation from Deshbandu College in New Delhi.
  •  He settled in Houston,Texas in 1998 and joined Houston Police Department in the year 2000.




Receive All Updates Via Facebook