Awards Current Affairs
June 4th week current affairs
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) UK-based philanthropist Benni Joseph Mavelil selected for V.K. Krishna Menon Award 2015.


  • Benni Joseph Mavelil, a UK-based philanthropist, was selected for the V.K. Krishna Menon Award in recognition of his outstanding professional and altruistic achievements, contributions and services to the community and wider multicultural society.
  • At present, Mavelil is a registered Manager and Director for the Ideal Fostering in Birmingham, United Kingdom. He is originally from Koodalloor, Kerala.

About V.K. Krishna Menon Award:


  1. The V.K. Krishna Menon award is given to outstanding Indian patriots who served in the Diaspora and have been distinguished in various fields including science, literature, business, politics, diplomacy and philanthropy.
  2. The V.K. Krishna Menon Institute was established in 2006 to commemorate and facilitate the life, times and achievements of VK Menon.
  3. It awards people from India and diaspora from Asia for significant accomplishments in various fields.

2) Prakash chand jain won biren roy space science and design award.


  • Dr. Prakash Chand Jain, an eminent scientist at Defence Research & Development Laboratory, has won the prestigious Dr. Biren Roy Space Science and Design award.
  •  Governor of Karnataka Vajubhai Vala conferred the award to Dr Jain.
  •  Dr. Jain made outstanding contributions in space sciences through application to the country’s flagship programmes.
  •  Dr. Jain, an alumnus of IIT Roorkee, IIT Bombay and BOYSCAST (DST) fellow from Pennsylvania State University USA is highly accomplished and internationally known expert in the areas of structures technologies.
  •  He is a fellow of Aeronautical Society of India and The Institution of Engineers (India). Currently he is also associated with Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi as AICTE INAE Distinguished Visiting Professor.

3) Sahitya Akademi confers Bhasha Samman on 4 Scholars.


  • Sahitya Akademi has conferred prestigious ‘Bhasha Samman’ on four scholars for their contribution to classical and medieval literature in various languages Recipients of Bhasha Samman.
  •  K. Meenakshi Sundaram: For her contributions to Classical and Medieval Literature (Southern). She was conferred with this award for year 2013.
  •  Acharya Munishwar Jha: For his contributions to Classical and Medieval Literature (Eastern). He was conferred with this award for the year 2014. He has made valuable contribution in the area of Sanskrit literature.
  • Charu Chandra Pande and Mathuradutt Mathpal: Jointly recognised for their work towards the enrichment of Kumauni.
  •  About Bhasha Samman award: The award carries a cash prize of 1 lakh rupees along with an inscribed copper plaque and a citation. In case of joint winners, the monetary prize is equally shared between the winners.


4) Sahitya Akademi announces Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2015.


  • Sahitya Akademi has announced the Bal Sahitya Puraskar for year 2015.
  • In this edition of Bal Sahitya Puraskar, 5 novelists, 4 writers of short stories, and 3 authors of poetries, 11 writers for their contribution to children’s literature and 1 book of one-act play respectively.

Recipients of Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2015:


  1. Novelist: Sowmya Rajendran (English), Nivditha Subramaniam (English), Tiren Boro (Bodo), Mukti Upadhyay ‘Baral’ (Nepali), Ramnath G. Gawade (Konkani) and Ramdeo Jha (Maithili).
  2. Writers of short stories: Nayeem Kashmiri (Kashmiri), Krishna Kumar ‘Ashu’ (Rajasthani), Thokchom Thouyangba Meitei (Manipuri) and Janardhan Hegde(Sanskrit).
  3. Poetry collections: Srikanta Saren (Santali), Tara Chand Kalandri (Dogri) and Sella Ganapathi (Tamil).
  4. Total Contribution to Children’s Literature: Kartik Ghose (Bengali), Eli Ahmed (Assamese), T.S. Nagraja Shetty (Kannada), Dhiruben Patel (Gujarati), Leeladhar Hegde (Marathi), Sivadas (Malayalam), Sukhdev Madpuri (Punjab), Snehlata Mohanty (Odia), Chokappu Venkataramana (Telugu) and JethoLalwani (Sindhi).
  5. Book of one-act play: Bano Sartaj (Urdu).
  6.  About Bal Sahitya Puraskar award: It is instituted by the Sahitya Akademi. The award comprises 50,000 rupees along with a casket containing an inscribed copper plaque and a citation.

5) Sri Sri Ravi Shankar to Receive Colombia’s Highest Civilian Award.

  • Indian spiritual leader Sri Sri Ravi Shankar has been conferred with Colombia’s highest civilian award, Orden de la Democracia Simon Bolivar en el grado de cruz Caballero.
  •  He was bestowed with this award for spreading the message of peace in society, reducing stress, inter-mediation in war and combating violence through yoga and breathing exercises.

About Sri Sri Ravi Shankar:

  1. Ravi Shankar was born as Ravi Shankar on 13 May 1956 in Papanasam, Tamil Nadu.
  2.  He is referred as Sri Sri (honorific) or as Guruji.
  3. He is founder of humanitarian and educational NGO called Art of Living Foundation established in 1981.
  4. The NGO aims to relieve individual stress, societal problems, and violence.
  5. Awards: Paraguay’s highest civilian award National Order of Merito de Comuneros (2012), Mongolia’s highest civilian award Order of the Pole Star (2006).


6) President conferred Punyabhushan Award on Prataprao Pawar.


  • President Pranab Mukharjee conferred Punyabhushan Award on Prataprao Pawar, Chairman of Sakal Media Group (SMG) at Balgandharva Auditorium in Pune.
  •  Pawar is the 27th recipient of the Punyabhushan award and his name was selected for the award by a committee led by scientist Raghunath Mashelkar.
  •  Besides, President also felicitated five veteran freedom fighters in the function.

Punyabhushan Award:


  1.  The Punyabhushan (Pride of Pune) constituted by Tridal, Pune is annually announced by the Punyabhushan Foundation with a view to commemorate the memory of Indian revolutionary martyrs Bhagat Singh, Sukhdev, and Rajguru.
  2.  It is awarded to an eminent personality from the field of art, music, culture, science, industry, social service, or sports in the city of Pune Maharashtra, India.
  3.  The award carries a memento and cash prize of 1 lakh rupees.
  4.  26th Punyabhushan Award was presented to Dr. Cyrus Poonawalla for his contribution to the field of Medicine & Research.

7) Famous Writer Vishwanath Tripathi chosen for 28th Moorti Devi Award.


  •  Veteran Writer Vishwanath Tripathi was selected for the 28th Moorti Devi Award for the year 2014 for his book Vyomkesh Darvesh.
  •  Vyomkesh Darvesh is a lifetime story of Acharya Hazari Prasad Dwivedi.
  •  His other works include Lokwadi Tulsidas, Meera Ka Kavya, Desh ke is Daur Main, Kuch Kahaniyan Kuch Vichar, Ped Ka Hath, Jaisa Kaha Saka and Nagatlai Ka Gaon.

About Moorti Devi Award:


  1.  Moorti Devi award was founded by Bharatiya Jnanpith and is given away to the authors who have contributed in the field of contemporary creative writing in modern Indian languages.
  2.  It is presented annually for a contemplative and perceptive work which expresses, underlines and illumines human values rooted in the broad vision of Indian philosophy and cultural heritage.
  3.  Books written in English and all Indian languages are considered for the Prize, which comprises a cash award of four lakhs rupees, a statue and a citation plaque.