Awards Current Affairs
June 1st week current affairs
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) McCullum, Hesson honoured in Queen’s Birthday Honours? in New Zealand.


  •  New Zealand cricket captain Brendon McCullum and Coach Mike Hesson were honoured with Officers of the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM).
  •  Their names were listed in the honours to mark the annual Queen Elizabeth II Birthday public holiday.
  •  They were awarded for their part in leading New Zealand to the final of 2015 Cricket World Cup for the first time.
  •  Both have been the captain and head coach, respectively, of New Zealand since 2012.
  •  The head of the New Zealand World Cup organizing committee, Therese Walsh was made a Dame Companion of the NZOM.

About the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM):

  1.  The New Zealand Order of Merit award was instituted in 1996 by Elizabeth II, Queen of New Zealand. The honour is conferred to recognise outstanding service of people that they did to the Crown and people of New Zealand in a civil or military capacity.

The New Zealand Order of Merit has five levels and they are:


  1.  Knight or Dame Grand Companion (GNZM).
  2.  Knight or Dame Companion (KNZM/ DNZM).
  3.  Companion (CNZM).
  4.  Officer (ONZM).
  5.  Member (MNZM).

2) Atal Bihari Vajpayee Honored with Friends of Bangladesh Liberation War Award.


  1.  Former Prime Minister of India Atal Bihari Vajpayee was set to be honored by Bangladesh for his outstanding support for the country’s independence from Pakistan in 1971 when he was a Lok Sabha member.
  2.  Former Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi was the first to be honoured with award.
  3.  President Pranab Mukherjee also has received this award in 2013.

3) Suresh Kalmadi conferred with Asian Athletics Association President’s award.

  •  Suresh Kalmadi was conferred with the Asian Athletics Association (AAA) President’s award.
  •  He was awarded for his contribution towards the development of athletics in Asian continent.
  •  Adille Sumariwala, the President of Athletics Federation of India received the award on behalf of Kalmadi at the function held in Wuhan, China.
  •  In March 2015, he was named as the Life President of AAA for his contribution for Asian athletics.
  •  He has served as the President of Indian Olympic Association from 1996 to 2012.

4) Edward Snowden Awarded Freedom of Expression Prize In Norway.


  •  Edward Snowden, former US security contractor and electronic surveillance whistleblower won a Norwegian prize for freedom of expression.
  •  The award was bestowed upon him by the Norwegian Academy of Literature and Freedom of Expression for his work protecting privacy and for shining a critical light on US surveillance of its citizens and others.

About Norwegian prize for freedom of expression:


  1.  Norwegian prize for freedom of expression is also known as Bjornson Prize named after a Norwegian Nobel literature laureate.
  2.  It is given by Norwegian Academy of Literature and Freedom of Expression which promote understanding of cultures other than our own and for literary free speech.
  3.  The award carries cash prize of 100,000 kroner (approximately US 14950 dollars).

5) 16th edition of the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA).

  •  16th edition of the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) informally known as the ``Bollywood Oscars``, was held in Malaysia.
  •  The award ceremony was held in Putra Indoor Stadium Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
  •  Haider was awarded the most awards (09).

Popular Awards:


  1.  Best Film: Queen.
  2.  Best Director: Rajkumar Hirani – PK.
  3.  Best Actor In A Leading Role: Shahid Kapoor – Haider as Haider Meer.
  4.  Best Actress In A Leading Role: Kangana Ranaut – Queen as Rani Mehra.
  5.  Best Actor In A Supporting Role: Riteish Deshmukh – Ek Villain as Rakesh Mahadkar.
  6.  Best Actress In A Supporting Role: Tabu – Haider as Ghazala Meer.
  7.  Male Debutant Star: Tiger Shroff – Heropanti as Bablu.
  8.  Female Debutant Star: Kriti Sanon – Heropanti as Dimpy.
  9.  Best Performance In A Comic Role: Varun Dhawan– Main Tera Hero as Seenu.
  10.  Best Performance In A Negative Role: Kay Kay Menon– Haider as Khurram Meer.
  11.  Best Story: Vikas Bahl, Chaitally Parmar, Parveez Shaikh- Queen

Musical awards:

  1.  IIFA Award for Outstanding Achievement in International Cinema: Subhash Ghai.
  2.  IIFA Award for Entertainer of the Year: Deepika Padukone

Musical awards:

  1.  Best Music Direction: 2 States – Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy.
  2.  Best Lyrics: Galliyan from Ek Villain – Manoj Muntashir.
  3.  Best Male Playback Singer: Ankit Tiwari for Galliyan – Ek Villain.
  4.  Best Female Playback Singer: Kanika Kapoor for Baby Doll – Ragini MMS 2.
  5.  Best Sound Design: Shajith Koyeri – Haider.
  6.  Best Background Score: Vishal Bhardwaj – Haider.
  7.  Technical awards Best Action: Parvez Shaikh & Andy Armstrong – Bang Bang.
  8.  Best Special Effects: Reupal Rawal (Prime Focus) – Kick.
  9.  Best Choreography: Ahmed Khan – Kick.
  10.  Best Cinematography: Binod Pradhan – 2 States.
  11.  Best Costume Design: Dolly Ahluwalia – Haider.
  12.  Best Dialogue: Abhijat Joshi & Rajkumar Hirani – PK.
  13.  Best Editing: Anurag Kashyap & Abhijit Kokate – Queen.
  14.  Best Makeup: Preetisheel Singh & Clover Wootton – Haider.
  15.  Best Production Design: Subrata Chakraborty & Amit Ray – Haider.
  16.  Best Screenplay: Vikas Bahl, Chaitally Parmar & Parveez Shaikh – Queen.
  17.  Best Sound Mixing: Debajit Changmai – Haider.
  18.  Best Sound Recording: Eric Pillai for Galliyan – Ek Villain.

6) Parkash Singh Badal conferred with Sant Namdev National Award.


  • Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal was conferred the prestigious 14th Sant Namdev National Award- 2015 for promoting peace, communal harmony and universal brotherhood at a function organised by the Sarhad foundation.
  •  This award was bestowed upon Badal by Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis in the presence of the organisers of the Sarhad foundation.

About Prakash Singh Badal:


  1. Parkash Singh Badal is the longest-serving Chief Minister of Punjab with over 15 years in office.
  2.  Currently, he is heading Akali Dal-BJP coalition government.
  3.  He previously had served as CM for first time in 1970 to 1971. Later for second time from 1977 to 1980 and for third time from 1997 to 2002.
  4.  He is generally regarded as the second most powerful Sikh leader in world after former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.
  5.  In 2015, he was awarded with India’s second highest civilian award, Padma Vibhushan.

7) Indian-Origin Vivek Murthy Presented with Pride of Community Award.


  • Indian-origin US Surgeon General Vivek Murthy has been presented with the Pride of the Community Award by a prominent Hindu advocacy group.
  •  Receiving the award by the Hindu American Foundation at its 12th Annual Day reception at Capitol Hill.

8) Para-athlete Devika Won Queen’s Young Leaders Award.

  • Multiple-medal winner para-athlete, Devika Malik has been selected as one of the Queen’s Young Leaders Award winners from across all the Commonwealth Nations.
  •  She has received this award for the efforts made by the Wheeling Happiness foundation to build a more inclusive society for persons with physical, emotional and social challenges in India.
  •  The Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Trust, in partnership with Comic Relief and The Royal Commonwealth Society has established the Queen’s Young Leaders Programme in honour of Her Majesty’s long and continued service to the Commonwealth.