Awards Current Affairs
September 3rd week current affairs
Category : Awards Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar and National Safety Awards for the Performance Year 2013 Presented.


  • The Minister of State for Labour & Employment (Independent Charge) Shri Bandaru Dattatreya gave away Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar and National Safety Awards for the Performance Year 2013.
  • There are 28 award winners out of a total of 193 applications received from different industries for the Performance Year 2013. This year these 28 awards are being shared by 132 individuals.

About Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar (VRP):


  1. VRP is awarded in recognition of outstanding suggestions given by a worker or group of workers and implemented by the management in the form of cash prize and a certificate.
  2. The certificate of merit is given in three categories: Class A- Five of 75000 rupees each, Class B- Eight of 50000 rupees each and Class C- Fifteen of 25000 rupees each.

About National Safety Awards (NSA):


  1. The NSA is given in recognition of outstanding safety performance of industrial establishments, construction sites, ports and installations to stimulate and maintain the interests of both the management and the workers in accident prevention programmes.
  2. This award is given under twelve schemes, out of which ten are meant for Factories Construction sites, Installations under Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) and two are for Ports.
  3. Under each award, a Shield and a Certificate of Merit is given to each of the Award Winners and Runners-up.

2) Urdu scholar Shamim Hanfi awarded Jnangarima Manad Alankaran award.


  • Eminent Urdu litterateur Shamim Hanfi was conferred with inaugural Jnangarima Manad Alankaran award of Bharatiya Jnanpith.
  • The Urdu scholar is known for his books on criticism like Ghazal Ka Naya Manzarnama, Jadidiyat ki Falsafiyani Asas and Infiradi Shaoor aur Ijtemai Zindagi. Shamim Hanfi hails from Sultanpur in Uttar Pradesh.
  • Earlier he had served as a faculty member in Aligarh Muslim University for a brief period of time. He also had served as the Dean of Humanities and Languages department at Jamia Millia Islamia till 2012.

About Jnangarima Manad Alankaran award:


  1. The award has been instituted in 2015 by Bharatiya Jnanpith to commemorate 70 years of the institution.
  2. It recognises the contribution of writers in Indian languages.
  3. It award carries Saraswati statue, a silver citation and a shawl. The recipient is given stipend of 11,000 rupees per month from the institution


3) Game of Thrones won 12 awards at 67th Primetime Emmy Awards.


Game of Thrones, Famous American fantasy drama television series won an unprecedented 12 awards at the 67th Primetime Emmy Awards.

The ceremony was held at the Microsoft Theater in Downtown Los Angeles, California.

Game of Thrones fetched 12 awards, including best drama series. It was the first time that the popular fantasy drama won the best drama series award.

The famous drama was created for HBO by showrunners David Benioff and D.B. Weiss. The show is an adaptation of A Song of Ice and Fire, George R.R. Martin`s series of fantasy novels, the first of which is titled A Game of Thrones.

Awards won by Game of Thrones:


  1. Outstanding Drama Series

  2. Outstanding Supporting Actor (Peter Dinklage)

  3. Outstanding Writing in a Drama Series

  4. Outstanding Direction in a Drama Series

  5. Outstanding Make-Up for a Single-Camera Series (Non-Prosthetic)

  6. Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing for a Drama Series

  7. Outstanding Production Design for a Narrative Contemporary or Fantasy Program (One Hour or More)

  8. Outstanding Sound Editing for a Series

  9. Outstanding Sound Mixing for a Scripted Series

  10. Outstanding Special Visual Effects

  11. Outstanding Stunt Coordination for a Drama Series

  12. Outstanding Casting for a Drama Series

4) Lalita Prasida Sripada Srisai of Odisha won Community Impact Award at Google Science Fair.


  • A 13-year-old student from Odisha, Sripada Srisai Lalita Prasida, has won the Community Impact Award at the Google Science Fair in the 13-15 years age category for developing a water purifier that works using waste corn cobs.
  • Prasida, who studies in class 9 at DPS Damanjodi in Odisha`s Koratpur district, was awarded $10,000 as prize money and will be mentored by Google to build the project.
  • As part of the project, Prasida used waste corn cobs in order to clean purify water from domestic as well as industrial wastes by applying the principle of adsorption.

About Google Science Fair:


  1. The Google Science Fair is an online science competition sponsored by Google, National Geographic, Galactic, Lego, Virgin and Scientific American.
  2. The competition is open for 13 to 18 years old students from all over the world. The first ever Google Science Fair award was announced in July 2011.

5) Indra Nooyi and Shobhana Bhartia win prestigious Global Leadership Awards.


  • PepsiCo Chairman Indra Nooyi and Hindustan Times Group chairperson Shobhana Bharatia were awarded with the 2015 Global Leadership Award of the US-India Business Council (USIBC).
  • Apart from them, renowned Indian-American artist Natvar Bhavsar was awarded with the Artistic Achievement Award. He is well-known for his abstract expressionism and colour-field painting.
  • Indra Nooyi and Shobhana Bhartia were honoured for their roles as top women leaders in the Business world and their commitment to drive a more inclusive global economy.

About US-India Business Council:


  1. Formed in 1975, the US India Business Council is the premier business advocacy organization, comprised of top-tier US and Indian companies advancing US-India commercial ties.
  2. It is the largest bilateral trade association in the United States with liaison presence in New York, Silicon Valley and New Delhi.

6) 24th Vyaas Samman conferred on eminent Hindi writer Dr. Kamal Kishore Goenka.


  • Eminent Hindi writer Dr. Kamal Kishore Goenka was conferred with 24th Vyaas Samman for the year 2014.
  • He was awarded for his work `Premchand ki Kahaniyon ka Kaal Kramanusaar Adhyayan`.
  • He was awarded a citation along with a cash amount of 2.5 lakh rupees by eminent Hindi writer Prof Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari.
  • Goenka`s work is a critical analysis of the work by Hindi literature`s towering giant Munshi Premchand.

About Vyas Samman Award:


  1. The award was instituted in 1991 by the KK Birla Foundation. It is presented to an outstanding literary work in Hindi published during the last 10 years.
  2. Ram Vilas Sharma was the first person to receive the award for his Bharat ke Pracheen bhasha parivar aur Hindi in 1991.
  3. Vishwanath Tripathi received the award for the year 2013 for his memoir `Vyomkesh Darvesh` that is a biography of the noted Hindi scholar Acharya Hazari Prasad Dwivedi.