Sport Current Affairs
September 2nd Week 2015 Current Affairs
Category : Sport Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) Weightlifter Deepak Lather wins gold, creates record in Commonwealth Youth Games (CYG).

  • Indian weightlifters Deepak Lather won a gold medal in the 62 kg category of the 2015 Commonwealth Youth Games (CYG) being held in Apia, Samoa.
  • This was India’s second gold in weightlifting after Jamjang Deru (17-year-old) who won a gold medal in the 56 kg category
  • 15-year-old Deepak finished with a total of 258 kg with 120 kg in snatch -new CYG record -and 138 kg in clean and jerk.
2) Sri Lanka name Jerome Jayaratne as interim coach.
  • Jerome Jayaratne will be Sri Lanka`s interim coach for the home series against West Indies.
  • Sri Lanka were without a head coach after Marvan Atapattu resigned following the team`s back-to-back home test series defeat by Pakistan and India.
  • West Indies play two tests, three one-dayers and two Twenty20 Internationals in Sri Lanka in October.

3) Anirban Lahiri becomes first Indian golf player to qualify for President`s Cup.
  • Golfer Anirban Lahiri becomes the first Indian to qualify for the prestigious President`s Cup he will be part of the International Team in the 2015 championship.
  • Presidents Cup was created and is organised by PGA Tour.
  • The Cup is held in every two years, Presidents Cup is played between the United States of America against an International team which is formed by players from all over the world except Europe.
  • The Cup will be played at Jack Niklaus Golf Club Korea in Incheon, South Korea.
4) Indians Bag Two Bronze Medals in CYG.
  • Abitha Mary Manuel and Anamika Das won bronze medals at the 5th Commonwealth Youth Games (CYG) in Apia in Samoa.
  • Abitha Mary Manuel won the medal in girls 800m race, while Anamika Das won it in shot put.
Medals winners of India 2015 CYG:
  1. Tejaswin Shankar won the Gold medal in boys high jump
  2. Weightlifter Jamjang Deru won Gold medal in 56 kg category
  3. Weightlifter Deepak Lather won Gold medal in 62 kg category
  4. Javelin thrower Mohd Hadish won a Gold medal
  5. Swimmer Supriya Mondal won the Silver medal in boys 200 metre butterfly event
  6. Jisna Mathew won a Silver medal in girls 400m race
  7. Chandan Bauri won a Bronze medal in boys 400m race
  8. Velavan Senthilkumar won a Bronze in boys squash singles

5) Virat Kohli Becomes Co-Owner of IPTL Team UAE Royals.

  • Virat Kohli became the co-owner of International Premier Tennis League (IPTL) franchise, UAE Royals.
  • UAE Royals will be led by Swiss tennis ace Roger Federer.
  • UAE Royals feature some of tennis` greatest players like Tomas Berdych, Ana Ivanovic, Goran Ivanisevic, Daniel Nestor, and Kristina Mladenovic
  • UAE leg of the league will be held from 14 to 16 December 2015 at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Stadium.
About International Premier Tennis League:
  1. Founded: 2013
  2. Founder: Mahesh Bhupathi
  3. Sponsor: Coca-Cola Company
  4. No of teams: 5
  5. Countries: India, philippines, singapore, United Arab Emirates, Japan
  6. Motto: Break The Code
  7. Most Recent Champions: Indian Aces (1st title)
  8. Teams in four Asian cities: Dubai, Manila, New Delhi and Singapore.
6) Floyd Mayweather Jr retires from boxing after defeating Andre Berto.
  • American Boxer Floyd Mayweather Jr announced retirement from the 19-year-long career in the ring unbeaten and on his own terms as `The Best Ever` after improving his career record to 49-0.
  • Floyd Mayweather took the decision after the win against Andre Berto in the Welterweight World Championships held at the MGM Grand Arena in Las Vegas, the USA.
About Floyd Mayweather Jr:
  1. Floyd Mayweather Jr is widely recognized as the best boxer of his generation and amongst the greatest fighters of all time.
  2. He is undefeated as a professional and is a five-division world champion, having won twelve world titles and the lineal championship in four different weight classes.
  3. He is a two-time Ring magazine Fighter of the Year (winning the award in 1998 and 2007).
  4. He won the Boxing Writers Association of America (BWAA) Fighter of the Year award in 2007, 2013 and the Best Fighter ESPY Award in 2007, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013, and 2014.
  5. His historic win against Manny Pacquiao in May 2015 considered as the fight of the century of boxing that fetched him 220 million US dollars.

7) Winners of 2015 US Open Tittles of Tennis.

  • 135th edition of the US Open tennis tournament played on outdoor hard courts at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center.
Men’s Singles title:
  • Novak Djokovic of Serbia has won the US Open Men’s Singles title by defeating Roger Federer of Switzerland.
Women’s Singles Title:
  • Italy’s Flavia Pennetta has lifted the Women’s Singles trophy of the US Open. by defeating Roberta Vinci (Italy).
Men’s Doubles Title:
  • French pair of Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut won the Men’s Doubles trophy of the US Open by defeating Jamie Murray (United Kingdom) and John Peers (Australia).
Women’s Doubles Title:
  • Sania Mirza (India) and Martina Hingis (Switzerland) pair won the Switzerland women’s Doubles trophy of the US Open by defeating Casey Dellacqua (Australia) and Yaroslava Shvedova (Kazakhstan).
Mixed Doubles Title:
  • Leander Paes (India) and Martina Hingis (Switzerland) pair won the Mixed Doubles trophy of Final Grand Slam of the US Open by defeating American pair of Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Sam Querrey.
8) Leander Paes, Martina Hingis Won US Open Mixed Doubles Title of 2015.
  • Leander Paes and Swiss Martina Hingis became the first team since 1969 to win three Grand Slam mixed doubles titles in the same season at the US Open.
  • Indo-Swiss pair(Leander Paes and Martina Hingis) defeated unseeded Americans Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Sam Querrey.
  • They defeated Daniel Nestor and Kristina Mladenovic in the Australian Open final 2015 and beat Alexander Peya and Timea Babos in the Wimbledon title match 2015 itself.
  • The only other team to win three majors in the same year were Marty Riessen and Margaret Court 46 years ago.

9) India placed 22nd in new Asian football technical ranking.
  • Technical ranking system released by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC).
  • India in 22nd spot among the continent’s 46-member countries, the highest among South Asian nations.
  • South Korea leads the technical rankings chart with 88.354 points (63.326+25.028), followed by Saudi Arabia (84.666).
  • National team’s performance is based on latest FIFA ranking points and this carries 30 per cent weightage in the calculation. The performance of the clubs of a particular country carries 70 per cent weightage and this is calculated based on the four latest Asian Champions League or AFC Cup seasons.
10) Narsingh wins bronze at World Championship, books Olympic place for India.
  • Narsingh Pancham Yadav secured an Olympic quota place for India after bagging a bronze medal in the Men’s 74 kg Freestyle category at the World Wrestling Championship in Las Vegas.
  • Narsingh lost the semi final game to Unurbat Purevjav (Mongolia), he could defeat Zelimkhan Khadjiev (France) 12-8 in the bronze medal play-off.
  • Narsingh became the lone Indian to win a medal at the prestigious tournament as well as book a berth for the 2016 Rio Games.
  • This is the first time that an Indian wrestler has earned an Olympic berth with a medal at the World Championship.