Sport Current Affairs
October 2nd Week 2015 Current Affairs
Category : Sport Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

1) NCC National Games declared open.

  •  The NCC National Games declared open and will see nearly 2000 cadets from all 17 state directorates in action. 
  •  The aim of the NCC Games is to provide the talented sportspersons amongst the cadets a feel of a major sporting event and prepare them with requisite match temperament and enhance their sporting careers. 
  •  It also aims to showcase and promote low cost indigenous games such as kabbadi and kho-kho among the youth.
2) South Africa won the 3-match T-20 series against India 2-0.
  • South Africa won the three-match T-20 International series against India 2-0.
  •  The third and the final match of the series was abandoned without a ball being bowled because of a wet outfield at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. 
  •  South Africa won the first two matches of the T-20 International series played at Dharmasala, Uttarakhand and cuttack, Odissa.
  •  JP Duminy (South Africa) adjudged as the “Man of the Tournament”.
3) IPL chief plays down Pepsi pullout threat.
  •  Indian Premier League chairman Rajeev Shukla sought to downplay PepsiCo’s notice to the BCCI saying it was considering pulling out of the IPL on the grounds that the spot-fixing scandal had brought the game into “disrepute”.
  •  BCCI and PepsiCo have had a long-standing cordial relationship. PepsiCo has raised certain concerns with the BCCI. 
  •  BCCI has assured that steps will be taken to address the concerns and will work necessary solutions in the interests of the league as well as PepsiCo.
  •  The global beverage giant had in 2012 bought the title sponsorship rights for the IPL for the period 2013-17 for Rs. 396.8 crore, which was almost double the original title sponsorship deal done in 2008.
  •  In 2008, DLF had paid Rs. 200 crore for the title rights till 2012. But in 2012, DLF chose not to renew its contract, obliging the BCCI to issue a new tender.

4) Sania Mirza-Martina Hingis won women`s doubles title of China Open.

  •  Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis won women`s doubles title of the China Tennis Open. The Indo-Swiss pair defeated Chinese Taipean pair of Hao-Ching Chan and Yung-Jan Chan.
  •  This was eighth title of the season as a team for Sania-Hingis and fourth title in a row. With this win, the Indo-Swiss pair won their eighth WTA doubles titles together in the year 2015.
  •  The other seven titles are Indian Wells, Miami, Charleston, Wimbledon, US Open, Guangzhou and Wuhan.
5) Shweta Rathore became first Indian female bodybuilder to win silver in Asian body building championship.
  •  Indian female bodybuilder Shweta Rathore won a silver medal in the 49th Asian Bodybuilding and Physique Championship, held in Uzbekistan.
  •  She became the first ever Indian female bodybuilder to win a medal at a continental level tournament.
  •  Earlier, she won a bronze medal at the the World Bodybuilding and Physique fitness Championship.
About Shweta Rathore:
  •  Shweta, an engineer by qualification, won silver in the Women`s Fitness Physique category and qualified for the World Championship, to be held in Thailand in November 2015.
  •  To help nurture the future of women in India, the 25-year-old athlete runs an NGO called God’s Beautiful Children. She also runs an Academy called fitness forever.
 China Open (tennis) 2015 winners.
  1.  Novak Djokovic of Serbia won the 2015 Men’s Singles title of China Open. In the final match he defeated Rafael Nadal of Spain. This is Djokovic’s fourth Men’s Singles title of China Open.
  2.  Garbine Muguruza of Spain won the 2015 Women’s Singles title of China Open. In the final match she defeated Tímea Bacsinszky of Switzerland.
  3.  Sania Mirza (India) and Martina Hingis (Switzerland) pair won 2015 Women’s Doubles title of China Open by defeating Chinese pair Hao-ching and Chan Yung-jan.
  4.  Vasek Pospisil (Canada) and Jack Sock (US) pair won the 2015 Men’s Doubles title of China Open by defeating Daniel Nestor (Canada) and Edouard Roger-Vasselin (France).

6) British Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton won 2015 Formula 1 Russian Grand Prix title.

  •  Lewis Hamilton of Britain won the 2015 Formula 1 Russian Grand Prix title. He defended the title at the final race held at Sochi Autodrom in Sochi, Russia.
  •  Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel (Germany) and Sergio Perez (Mexico) of Force India stood at second and third positions respectively.
  •  It was the ninth title for Hamilton in the 2015 season as he won the titles in Australia, China, Bahrain, Canada, the UK, Belgium, Italy and Japan prior to the present victory.
7) Indian shuttler Ajay Jayaram won 2015 Dutch Open Men’s Singles title.
  • Ajay Jayaram of India defended the 2015 Dutch Open Men’s Singles badminton title. By defeating World Number 26 ranker Estonia’s Raul Must.
  •  While Jayaram won his maiden title in 2014, it was the fourth overall title for India. The other two titles were won by Prakash Padukone and Chetan Anand in 1982 and 2009 respectively.
About Dutch Open:
  1.  Dutch Open is a Grand Prix category tournament that is held annually since 1932 in Netherlands. It is currently organized by Badminton Bond Nederlandse (BBN) and is a part of the European Badminton Circuit.
8) Punjab National Bank won Beighton Cup of Hockey.
  •  Punjab National Bank (PNB) claimed the Beighton Cup hockey tournament by defeating Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) at the Sports Authority of India (SAI) ground in Kolkata.
  •  PNB goalkeeper Jasbir Singh was awarded with the Best Player award, whereas, the Fairplay Trophy was given to Army XI.
About Beighton Cup:
  1.  Beighton Cup, one of the oldest field hockey tournaments, was instituted in 1895.
  2.  It is organised by Bengal Hockey Association and is held on Astro Turf (artificial grass) at Sports Authority of India in Kolkata.
  3.  The cup is named after T.D. Beighton, Legal Remembrancer of the Government of Bengal.
9) Pele bids adieu to Kolkata as India trip comes to end.
  • Football legend Pele thanked the City of Joy as he concluded his three-day
  • trip in Kolkata with plenty of memories.

  • The three-time World Cup winner wrapped up his sojourn in Kolkata and
  • headed to Delhi, spreading the message to “stay healthy” as he supported
  • a cause for blood cancer patients.

Simon Taufel quits ICC post:

  1. Simon Taufel has resigned as the International Cricket Council (ICC) Umpire
  2. Performance and Training manager.
  3. Taufel was known as the best umpire in the world, winning five ICC Best
  4. Umpire Awards from 2004 to 2008.
  5. He joined the ICC after the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka in 2012.
  6. The ICC, though, is keen to avail Taufel’s expertise with a revised job description.