Sport Current Affairs
August 2011 Sports Current Affairs
Category : Sport Current Affairs
posted Date :
Total No.of views :
Total No.of Comments :
0 / 5 (0 votes)

August 2011

In the 13th World Championships in Athletics that started in Daegu, South Korea on 27 August 2011, Jamaican Yohan Blake emerged as the new world champion in men`s 100m after Usain Bolt crashed out of the final with a foul start. Jason Richardson (USA) won gold in the 110m hurdle on 29 August. In the Women’s 100m, Carmelita Jeter (USA) won the gold. Veronica Campbell-Brown and Kelly-Ann Baptiste won the silver and bronze medals respectively. In the 400m event of the women’s category, Amantle Montsho was placed first followed by Allyson Felix and Anastasiya Kapachinskaya. Olympic champion Olga Kaniskina of Russia won her third consecutive World women`s 20km walk title on 31 August 2011.Kaniskina`s three consecutive world titles matched the feat of Jefferson Perez of Ecuador, who won the men`s 20km titles in 2003, 2005 and 2007. 

Sebastian Vettel of Red Bul has won the Belgian Grand Prix on 28 August 2011. With the victory, Vettel’s number of victories in 2011 moved to seven.His teammate at Red Bull, Mark Webber finished in second, 3.7 seconds behind, while Jenson Button, who won the previous race, the Hungarian Grand Prix finished third .
Top-seeded International Master Rahul Sangma of Delhi won the Sunita Singh Memorial National youth (under-25) chess championship at Indore on 27 August 2011.The championship was a 50-player event. Sangma scored a final round victory with black over Sai Agni Jeevitesh of Andhra. The event was organised by S.K.M. Chess Academy and J.J. Public School, Indore, from 21 to 27. August 2011. Pranesh Yadav of Shivamogga, Karnataka was the chief arbiter. 
Veteran Indian footballer Baichung Bhutia announced his retirement from international soccer on 24 August 2011. In his career spread over 16 years he scored 42 goals in 107 international appearances. Nicknamed the Sikkimese Sniper, he is currently contracted by the club he owns, United Sikkim. He has thrice in the past been named Indian Player of the Year. When he signed up to play for the English club Bury F.C. in 1999 he became the first Indian footballer to play professional football in Europe. He was honoured with the Arjuna award in 1995 and Padma Shri in 2008.

 World No. 4 Andy Murray won the ATP`s Cincinnati Masters title for the second time on 21 August 2011 after defeating World No. 1 Novak Djokovic. Fourth-seeded Russian Maria Sharapova defeated Serbia`s Jelena Jankovic to win the women`s title. In the doubles final, Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi won their third title of 2011 and first at Cincinnati after 10 years, following a hard-fought win over French-Serbian combination Michael Llodra and Nenad Zimonjic. 

Ace Indian discus thrower Krishna Poonia won the Gold medal in the Annual Athletic Meet at Portland in the United States.
Novak Djokovic defeated American Mardy Fish 6-2, 3-6, 6-4 to win the Montreal Masters thereby winning his ninth ATP title of 2011. The win also made him the first to capture an ATP tournament on debut as number one since Pete Sampras in 1993. 
Veteran Indian batsman Rahul Dravid announced his retirement from both the Tests and ODIs. He announced his retirement after he was chosen for the ODI and T20 series in England. He became the second highest run-getter in Test cricket-12576 runs from 155 matches during the India-England test series. Dravid also equaled Sunil Gavaskar`s record of 34 Test tons during the ongoing Test series against England. Dravid has to his credit over 10000 runs in both the Test and ODI cricket, with 10765 runs in 339 one-dayers who is the seventh highest scorer in that format. 
Aditya Mehta claimed his maiden National snooker title by defeating Alok Kumar 6-2 the best-of-eleven frame final at the Hash10 World Sim championships on 9 August 2011. 

 McLaren`s Jenson Button won the Hungarian Grand Prix on 31 July 2011. He has 11 Grand Prix races in a career that started with team Williams in 2000.Red Bull`s Sebastian Vettel was placed second in this event. 

The Indian Olympic Association (IOA) set up an eight member Indian Court of Arbitration for Sports (ICAS). ICAS was set up under the Chairmanship of Dr. AR. Lakshmanan, former Supreme Court Judge and former Law Commission chairperson to resolve all sports related disputes in India. All sports related the International Court of Arbitration settles disputes in the whole world for Sports situated at Lausanne, Switzerland through a panel of eminent experts in the field of law, medicine, sports and others. The International Olympic Committee (IOC) had given directions to the IOA to constitute the Indian court of Arbitration for Sports in order to resolve all sports related disputes within the territory of India. 
India’s double-trap shooter and Asian Games gold medalist Ronjan Sodhi was ranked No.1 in the world, as per the latest rankings released by the International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) on 1 August 2011. Double trap marksman Ronjan Sodhi won gold in the World Cup Finals in Turkey in 2010. He had recently won the silver medal in the Beijing World Cup to clinch the Olympic quota place. After the Beijing World Cup he went on to win a bronze medal in the next World Cup in Maribor.Ronjan Sodhi from Punjab lad had won the World Cup gold medals in Belgrade in 2008 (with two world records to boot) and Lonato in 2010.