Commonwealth shared scholarship


The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (with funding from Department for International Development), and UK universities, to support scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom.


Eligibility of Candidates Candidates are expected to hold a first degree at either first class or upper second class level (see also Selection below). At this time, the Commission cannot assess work experience in lieu of this minimum academic qualification No funding for pre-sessional English training is provided under this scheme. Nominating universities must therefore confirm that candidates are sufficiently fluent in written and oral English to pursue their studies immediately.


Candidates are required to sign an undertaking that they: i. are nationals of a developing Commonwealth country ii. are permanently domiciled in a developing Commonwealth country, and are not at present living or studying in a developed country; iii. have not undertaken studies lasting one year or more in a developed country; May2011 iv. are themselves, or through their families, unable to pay to study in the United Kingdom; v. will return to their home country within two weeks from the end date of their award.


The deadline for applications through the CSC EAS system is : 1st May 2012