FREE Video based Current Affairs For competitive exams Click Here

Neha Dixit was awarded the 2019 International Press Freedom Award:

The Indian journalist Neha Dixit was awarded the 2019 International Press Freedom Award by the Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ). She has covered gender, politics, and social justice in print, TV, and online media for more than a decade. The award recognized her investigation that shed a light on important issues in the country, including extrajudicial killings by police, in 2019.

Other awardees:

Other journalists who received the award are Lucia Pineda Ubau and Miguel Mora from Nicaragua, Maxence Melo Mubyazi from Tanzania, Patricia Campos Mello from Brazil, Zafar Abbas from Pakistan.

Neha Dixit:

Neha Dixit is an Indian journalist. She writes form investigative reports on gender, politics and social justice in South Asia. She has authored many books including The Girl Not From Madras, First Hand: Graphic Non-fiction from India, Shadow Lines. She was awarded the Chameli Devi Jain Award for Outstanding Woman Journalist for 2016. It is the highest award for women journalists in India. She has also received the Young Journalist Award by Thomson Foundation, Lorenzo Natali Award by the European Commission, News Television Awards, UNFPA Laadli Award, Anupama Jayaraman Award.

Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ):

Formed on: 1981

Headquarters: New York, United States

CPJ is known as Journalism`s Red Cross. The committee defends the rights of journalists and promotes press freedom. 

International Press Freedom Award:

The award was instituted by Committee to Protect Journalists in 1991. The award honours journalists who show courage in defending press freedom despite attacks, threats, or imprisonment. The first honorees of the award are Bill Foley and Cary Vaughan from US, Pius Njawe from Cameroon, Wang Juntao and Chen Ziming from China, Tatyana Mitkova from Russia and Byron Barrera from Guatemala.

G Satheesh Reddy was awarded the honorary fellowship by RAeS:

G Satheesh Reddy, the Chairman of Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), was awarded the Honorary Fellowship. The award was presented by the Royal Aeronautical Society of the United Kingdom. The award recognized his contributions towards development and indigenous design, deployment of aerospace vehicles, diversified missile systems, guided weapons and avionics technologies in India. The award is very special as Reddy is the first Indian recipient of the prestigious award in over 100 years.

Dr. Satheesh Reddy:

Dr. Satheesh Reddy is famously known as Junior Kalam and Next-Generation Missile Man among students. He led the Mission Shakti which is India`s first Anti-Satellite Missile Test (ASAT) mission. It demonstrated an extremely high degree of precision and technological prowess. This enabled India to join a select group of four nations with such capability. 

He also bolstered the Ballistic Missile Defence (BMD) programme and successfully demonstrated missile interception capabilities at high altitudes. He led the development of advanced avionics in India. He achieved many successful missions including long-range Agni 5 strategic missile. Reddy`s contributions toward Research and development have made India self-reliant in Missiles and Avionics technologies.

Dr. Satheesh Reddy has received many other awards including National Aeronautical Prize, AIAA Missile Systems Award, National Design Award, National Systems Gold Medal, Homi J Bhabha Gold Medal and Technology Leadership Award, IEI-IEEE (USA) award for engineering excellence.

Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS):

Formed in: January 1866

Located at: London, United kingdom

RAeS is a British multi-disciplinary professional institution that is dedicated to the global aerospace community.

Honorary fellowship award:

The first awardee of the Honorary fellowship award of the Royal Aeronautical Society was Sir Thomas Sopwith. He was awarded in 1950.


Copyright © 2020 All Rights Reserved |