FREE Video based Current Affairs For competitive exams Click Here

 1. Dr P.K. Mishra, Additional Principal Secretary to Prime Minister conferred with the Sasakawa Award 2019

United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR) granted the prestigious Sasakawa Award 2019for Disaster Risk Reduction to Additional Principal Secretary to Prime Minister of India, Dr. Pramod Kumar Mishra, during the ongoing 6th Session of Global Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (GPDRR) 2019 at Geneva, Switzerland.
GPDRR is a biennial multi-stakeholder forum that was established by the (United nations) UN General Assembly to evaluate progress, share knowledge and discuss the recent developments in decreasing disaster risk.
The Indian delegation was led by Dr. P K Mishra.
In the area of Disaster Risk Management, the United Nations Sasakawa Award is the most prestigiousinternational award.
The theme of the 2019 Sasakawa award was titled “Building Inclusive and Resilient Societies”.
Dr. Mishra was honoured with the award for his constant dedication in improving the strength of the communities which were most exposed to disasters. He also personally committed to work for social inclusion for the reduction in inequality and poverty, and also enhanced the safety and security.
The United Nations Sasakawa Award is collaboratively organized by the UNDRR and the Nippon Foundation and was instituted over 30 years ago.
A total grant of 50,000 USD is distributed among the winners of the award, which can be either organizations or individuals.
UNDRR received over 61 nominations from 31 countries for the 2019 award.
Before the award ceremony, the Indian delegates attended Ministerial Roundtable discussions on ‘Risk Informed Investments & Economics of DRR (Disaster Risk Management)’ and also had a bilateral meeting with European Union (EU) on cooperation in India’s initiative on disaster resilient infrastructure.
The other winners of 2019 Sasakawa Award are as follows:
Sidnei Furtado, Director of Department of Civil Defence, Campinas, Brazil
Bijal Brahmbhatt, Director of the Mahila Housing SEWA (Self Employed Women’s Association)Trust of India.
2. Council of European Chambers of Commerce(CEUCC) to honour Anil Kapoor for promoting Children’s Rights
As a part of Europe Day celebrations, the Council of European Chambers of Commerce(CEUCC) in India and European Union(EU) delegation will felicitate Indian actor Anil Kapoor for promoting Children’s Rights and his effort to protect the rights of girls in collaboration with Plan India and the European Union.
Mr. Kapoor will be the Chief Guest for the celebrations. He will be accompanied by the  EU Ambassador to India Tomasz Kozlowski, EU Member states Consuls and senior representatives from the European and Indian corporate world.
The event will also demonstrate the emergence of Europe as the most favored destination for Indian filmmakers.
Every year on May 9, Europe Day is celebrated to commemorate the formation of the European Union.

Copyright © 2019 All Rights Reserved |