FREE Video based Current Affairs For competitive exams Click Here

Awards Current Affairs February 4th Week 2020

Ms. Jiya felicitated for creating world record in open water swimming:

Ms. Jiya was awarded a Certificate and Trophy for her record-breaking achievement by creating a world record. She was felicitated by Mr. Abhay Dadhe, Associate Vice President of Swimming Federation of India at an award ceremony held at K R Kama hall, Mumbai on 23 February. 

Jiya Rai achievement:
Ms. Jiya Rai is an eleven-year-old daughter of Madan Rai, Master Chief at Arms II, posted in INS Shikra. She is studying VI standard in Navy Children School (NCS), Mumbai. She created a world record on 15 February 2020 by becoming the fastest special girl to swim 14 Km in open water. She swam from Elephanta Island to Gateway of India, a distance of 14 Km in 3 hours 27 minutes and 30 seconds (03:27:30). The solo swimming event was conducted under the supervision of the Swimming Association of Maharashtra, an authorized body of the Swimming Federation of India. 
Jiya was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder and Delay in Speech when she was 2 years old. The water therapy developed a passion for swimming in her. Her achievement was qualified to be registered in Asia Book, India Book of Records, and Limca Book of Records for the youngest and first special girl in the world.
Dr. Niti Kumar received 2020 SERB Women Excellence Award:
Dr. Niti Kumar has received the SERB Women Excellence Award 2020. The award will be conferred by the President of India Ram Nath Kovind during National Science Day Celebrations on 28 February 2020 in Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi. The award is presented to women scientists below 40 years of age who have received recognition from national academies. The winner will be supported by a research grant of Rs.5 lakhs per annum for 3 years by Science and Engineering Research Board, Department of Science & Technology, Government of India (SERB-DST).
Dr. Niti Kumar:
Dr. Niti Kumar is a Senior Scientist from Division of Molecular Parasitology and Immunology, Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR)-Central Drug Research Institute (CDRI), Lucknow. Her research group is trying to understand the protein quality control machinery in the human malaria parasite for the exploration of alternative drug targets for malaria intervention.
She has won several awards and recognitions in her credit including, Innovative Young Biotechnologist Award (DBT-IYBA, 2015) by Indian National Science Academy, Ramalingaswami Fellowship (2013-2018), EMBO Post-Doctoral Fellowship (2010-2012), Alexander von Humboldt Fellow (2010), INSA Medal for Young Scientist (2010), Max Planck Post-doctoral fellowship at Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry (2009), and Marie Curie Early Stage Research Fellowship by European Union under 6th Framework Programme (2005-2006).
Khanderao, Vasudev Kamath was conferred the Raja Ravi Varma
The Raja Ravi Varma State Award for the year 2019 was conferred on a veteran painter from Kalaburagi Prof. J.S. Khanderao and senior artist from Mumbai, Vasudev Kamath for the year 2020 at a programme organized in the institute premises located on Narasaraja Road in Chamundipuram, Mysore, Karnataka. 
Prof. J.S. Khanderao was awarded for his art that defines the history of human culture as the art is a form of human expression. The painting dates back to the ages of primitive times. The art form has undergone rapid transformations over centuries.
Vasudev Kamath was awarded for his more expressive form of art.
Raja Ravi Varma State Award:
Raja Ravi Varma State Award was instituted by Karnataka`s Shri Ravivarma Art Institute. The award carries a cash prize of Rs.10,000 and a citation.

Adline Castelino was crowned 2020 LIVA Miss Diva Universe:

•Adline Castelino won the LIVA Miss Diva Universe 2020 title. She was crowned by Vartika Singh, Miss Diva Universe 2019, at an event held on Mumbai. The event was held on 22nd February. Castelino was followed by Aavriti Choudhary of Jabalpur. Choudhary was bestowed with the title of Miss Diva Supranational by her predecessor ShefaliSood.

•The jury included 2000 Miss Universe and Mentor Lara Dutta, Miss Supranational 2019 Anntonia Porsild, Designers Shivan& Narresh, Nikhil Mehra and Gavin Miguel, Yami Gautam and veteran actor Anil Kapoor.
•Adline Castelino: Adline Castelino is from Mangalore. She will represent the country at Miss Universe 2020.
•Aavriti Choudhary: Aavriti Choudhary is from Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh.
•She graduated with a degree in business administration from Prestige Institute of Management And Research in Indore.
•She will represent India at Miss Supernational 2020.

Awards Current Affairs February 4th Week 2020

Copyright © 2020 All Rights Reserved |